Temple Wandering (Phuket, Thailand) exploring the Buddhist temples of Thailand.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Temple Wandering

I Have been fascinated with Thailand for many reasons. It's beautiful landscapes, beaches, food and specific style of Buddhism.

The branch of Buddhism known in most of Southeast Asia including Thailand is called Theravada Buddhism. Of the two main branches of Buddhism, the other being Mahayana, it is the more conservative. Over 95% of the population is an active practitioner of Buddhism (theculturetrip.com).

It is hard not to notice the Buddhist presence in Thailand. Whether it be the massive temples and hill top Buddha Statues seen in many of the larger cities, or to the spirit houses that can be seen in almost all of the houses and businesses in the country.

All of the temples look psychedelic in a way. Almost as if they were on fire, featuring gold and red with rising edges and corners. Adding to the effect are the featured 'Naga', the mythological serpent that surrounded the Buddha after he attained enlightenment under the Bodhi tree.

Theravada Buddhism and the Thai people have a vibrancy and a fierceness to them. Something I admire greatly. During my time here I can't help but be mesmerized by their spirituality and beliefs that works it's way into everyday life. Their dedication and discipline is admirable. Even now behind me in my hostel is a small shrine with a daily offering to the Buddha.

While this post is focused on my short video I look forward to going deeper into researching and exploring Theravada Buddhism and creating future posts about my explorations and experiences. Although I would not call myself a Buddhist many of the teachings and philosophies have seeped into my life and have changed the way I view the world and behave in it.

I hope you enjoyed this video! Please let me know what you think with a comment below.

Until next time.

Love, Arqetype


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is such an amazing video @arqetype and did you record a monk chanting as well as different sounds along your journey? Or is that already in the song?
Very cool and deserves a resteem 😊

Thank you @traveling-two I appreciate that. I didn't record the chantting though. I found a nice free video online for that but I really want to start recording my own sound design for these videos.

You're welcome! Ah, free sampling is good and it does add depth in your video. Hopefully, with a good mic you can start recording your own sounds for your video. We're looking into experimenting in the cinematic look, but it takes time to edit videos, which we don't have at the moment. We came back from Singapore two weekends' ago and haven't seen the footage yet. Hopefully, can get something done before more filming in Chiang Mai! About that, going to look into a place we can meet up as had no feedback from the resident Steemians there. 😊

✈️👫

Ah dang! Let me know if you find a place. I am still debating whether I am going as I am waiting to hear back about my Australian work visa which I just dropped a nice chunk of change on. I have been in Koh Lanta for the past week haha. I love it down here. Either way it should be a good meet up. Also if you have any video editing questions let me know. It does take a lot of time to deal with all the footage. Plus all the storage space you need.

Decisions, decisions, decisions! We've briefly looked into the Australian Holiday Visa as we're both British and still under 30, so we thought it could be an option after Sam finishes his MBA at the end of the year. Everything is on the table. That's the good thing about our options at the moment, but the bad thing is the time constraint to make the right choice.

No worries if you can't make it up north, there will be another time. We were debating about heading to a beach destination for Songkran, but Becca hasn't seen the north yet. Either way, your choices are good.

Sure, if we have any questions about the dope editing you're doing and how to replicate similar styles (but with our own footage), we'll ask away. Going to try to figure it out ourselves, but we won't be too afraid to ask for help 😊

✈️👫

The video is stunning! Not sure if I asked before but what gimbal / camera did you use?

Thank you! @for91days for this video I used the goprohero5 and a feiyutech WG gimbal. It's cheap and adds tons of value to the quality of the video.

It produces great results ....

yeah if you have the cash for it definitely get it. It takes some time to learn how to get the best performance out of it but you can do all sorts of things like motion time-lapses. its pretty sweet!

Thats awesome brother. Keep sending us pics from that beautiful country

You got it man!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arqetype from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice! Speaking about Theravada Buddhism. have you done vipassana (10 days silent retreat meditation)? ^^

WOW!!! Yes, the architecture of the temples is my favorite. So much thought out art and beauty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78