The time I braved a shave...

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Over 4 years ago (coming up to 5) I decided to do something brave (well it's definitely not brave, but it sounds more impressive when someone calls it brave...)

I shaved my head for charity.

Those who only got to know me after the shave probably never realised I had shoulder length hair for over half my life up to the point I shaved it off.
It's funny showing people photos of the mop I used to sport.

Well here you go, a highlights video from the day capturing the shave in all it's glory.

People asked if I miss it. My answer is always NO.
However if I had long hair again, I'd make an attempt to make it look at least somewhere between non-shit and nearly-cool, instead of just shit.

The money raised from many increibly generous donors, which if I remember correctly was something like £1200, went directly to the Macmillan Cancer Support charity, and the hair itself was donated to the Little Princess Trust where it was recycled to make wigs for little girls going through cancer.

It was an unforgettable day and I wanted to share this with those who I have to know through STEEM over the last year or so :)

Cheers and enjoy, @ashtv


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

That's impressive. It wouldnt be easy shaving ones head if you are used to having long hair. £1200 for charity is a lot of money as well.

I love that description "between non-shit and nearly-cool, instead of just shit."

Hahaha hilarious

Posted using Partiko Android

I did have crap hair (still do to be fair)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Omg... long haired Ash!! This is very cool!!

I've always wanted to shave all my hair off once, and I wish I did when I was a teenager. Who knows? Maybe I'll do something like this one day ;)

braids (plait or how are they called) were cute :D
if you just told us, i would not be able to imagine you with the long hair. great video and great case

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01