AMA – Creator of Dtube is on LIVE!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

asky-me-anything-logo-final.gif

Today, we have set-up an AMA with DTube creator @heimindanger . Be sure to follow @dtube.

What is DTube?

DTube is an application fully written in javascript, that runs in the browser, that allows you to upload and watch videos on top of the IPFS Network. Moreover, it uses STEEM as a database and enables earning rewards from your uploads.

He’ll respond to your questions below via his account at @Heimindanger . Enjoy!


How do you get an AMA?

If you have an interesting project, or an expert on a subject, please comment below of your interest, or email [email protected] and I’ll get back to you.


Who is Next?

StelleBelle, TBD

Please support this AMA with an Upvote and a ReSteem! Thank you!

Sort:  

First of all, thank you for what you have built. My question is are you thinking of directing more of your attention work-wise towards the development of Dtube now that you have seen the communities response?

I am a very lazy person. I also get bored of anything really quickly. Novelty and curiosity are what drives me generally. Right now, I am more motivated than ever for DTube, but I know it will slowly fade. DTube won't be a long-term thing for me for the reason that it's incompatible with my personality. Also, DTube is a 'risky' project because of copyrighted / extremist contents. Even though I am prepared and would defend myself in front of a court, sometimes justice can be blind. Running DTube as a business, with me as the 'CEO' is insane in my opinion.

I will work on it non-stop until I reach what I consider to be version 1.0. After that, I will open source it and the community will be able to continue the project further if they want.

I can't imagine you being lazy, coming up with such an amazingly disruptive thing as Dtube, Thank you for the honesty of your response. Like @dan you probably have other ideas up your sleeve and it is the creative process which you get the kick out of. Releasing Dtube into the wild seems like a great solution to issues you highlighted.

I am a very lazy person. I also get bored of anything really quickly. Novelty and curiosity are what drives me generally. Right now, I am more motivated than ever for DTube, but I know it will slowly fade.

Pleasant honest answer. I know exactly what you mean... I don't know how some people can be passionate about one single project for more that a few months. I always try to rotate between different parallel projects.

And I was just about to ask the open source question. Thanks for answering that one! :)

There is a difference in lazy people. The average lazy person does little to nothing ever. Then you have the smart lazy people who want to start something and then get bored after a few months. The key to supporting the development of something such as DTube requires a fast growth of users. With small growth, I can see developers getting lazy. But I do believe that this network can grow but needs much more development at the moment. Certainly not ready for the average Joe that thinks sites just pop into existence overnight.

I see that Dtube is a great idea, it can be very sustainable. The current content of the DTube platform (mostly + 98%) does not contain copyright.

Now, it's time (I think) to release the code, and so help you. This project does not deserve to die.

Youtube, currently, is undergoing changes in monetization, that would help enough that Dtube grows a lot. Honestly, I myself would start creating content (I'm new to Steem) for its platform and even invite the communities and forums of my country to do it.

What are you most excited about that's happening to dtube in the next year?

Well pretty tough question as I don't see in the future. But if things go according to plan, I will be very excited when DTube releases on Apple / Android App Stores.

Out of all asian languages, which one do you like the most? Reading/writing wise but also how they are pronounced. I have been told that you love asian culture and I would love to hear more of it from the man himself. Cheers.

Very weird question. I don't have that much experience with Asia actually. I've been to China, Hong Kong and Singapore. Overall, I had the least problems to communicate in Singapore, as most people speak decent english (they call it singlish).

By the way, who told you that I liked asian culture? I will find this troll and make him eat his shorts :D

I will work on it non-stop until I reach what I consider to be version 1.0.

Can you reveal what you would consider to be version 1.0? Briefly...? :)

Oh and I noticed that DTube is not optimized for small screens. Will this change anytime soon?

I have a list of features that need thinking and coding if possible to implement. Once all these features are either ruled out or coded, this will be 1.0. After that, I'm not coding any new feature anymore.

I Try to Login to DTube and its not functional, yes I do it right and I know what the difference in the keys are. How we can help and Support you to get the login stable? Thanks for your awesome vision and work, humanity needs exactly that. Thanks

There was an error on a very small % of people, but it should work with the 'remember me' feature ticked off now.

What error message do you get? If it says wrong key, then I am sorry to inform you that no, you still don't know the difference between public and private keys.

Anyway, thanks a lot for the encouragements :D

Nice try 😂, 26 years of IT Engineering allows me to understand key pairs. Somehow I expected it. LOL
I got no error message, but you are right, today it works fine.

As said thanks a lot, you have my respect and Support. Go on make that big thing!

So I guess when you go on the homepage, you have no 'Watch Again' category either? If that's the case Id love to talk with some computer-educated person about it to find the root of the problem :D

Im on steemit.chat!

What made you come up with the idea of DTube originally ? Did you get censored somewhere ?

Well I saw SteemQ project announcement more than a year ago. So that's where I got the idea from. When I saw that it wasn't releasing and wasn't getting worked on, I decided to go for it, as this type of project perfectly fits my skills.

Reddit censored my steemit.com link to the original article but that's about it. They un-censored it after :D

Thanks for the response! :)
I like that fact you aren't lazy and take the bull by the horns and get stuff done! I can tell it fits your skill set.

I would like to write a letter to the UN and ask them if we are allowed to be protopeople who are protected by them because we are peaceful and law is cruel and outdated. Would you be able to program that? Keep the 25 percent ;)

I know I am the one supposed to answer questions, but I have literally no idea what you mean.

UN? Protopeople? What's the link with the 25%? What is there to program?

Which planet are you from?

I just hope there is someone out there who can decypher my message and free us all! You could be the one. But maybe that's the wrong way to go. I just want to be free and happy and you definitely could be the one who does it. OMG this gonna be exciting!

@shla-rafia Lay off whatever drug you are on.

I know I may be late but did you every consider making good more mirror sites? The ipfs link does not work for me.

I will probably host it on github soon. IPNS needs to be refreshed every 12 hours for it to work, it's kind of a pain.

thanks!!!

Congratulations @askme! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Not sure where to report bugs, but there going to [www.]dtube.video results in 403.

Thank you for the information, I will see what I can do about that. Meanwhile just go to https://dtube.video (without the www)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87