** CRANE BASE JUMP AT NIGHT! **

in #dtube5 years ago


So I noticed a crane appear a couple of months ago in the county that I live in, and when I first saw it my reaction was 'woah!!! jumpable object!' but then as I got closer to it I decided that it probably wasn’t high enough and it looked like it was protected by a fortress, so I kinda shrugged it off.

A close friend of mine also noticed the crane around the similar time, and happened to mention it to another base jumper, who said he was prepared to jump it…I thought bollocks! Got FOMO and now decided I wanted to jump it before he did.

I sent the drone up a few days later to see how high the boom was, and the drone said 280ft, so it was more than high enough. However, there are blocks of flats as well as other close by buildings that are potential hazards in the event of an off-heading opening. Site access looked hectic, CCTV, barbed wire, all the usual bollocks but in an area that is always busy with pedestrians. Again, I started to think it was not possible so decided I wouldn’t bother.

About 3 weeks later I heard that it got jumped! Instantly I felt gutted, but I don't know why! I guess FOMO again (Fear Of Missing Out). I thought that’s it, I'm fucking jumping this, especially now I know it can be done. I got in touch with the jumpers that did it and they described access as 'easy'.

A friend and I did several reccys of the site the crane was in, and decided on a plan of how we would access the crane, the type of jump we would do, and Plan A and B landing areas in case we get off-headings.

Once we had done this we needed to wait for the right weather, which was about a week on from our scout mission.

Since the crane had been jumped already and the site managers knew about it, they had upped their security, which gave us a bit more of a challenge. Now I don’t want to detail about how we got access and evaded security, all I can say is it took time, patience and a shit hot ground crew @skydiving ;-)

TO ANY BASE JUMPER READING THIS, THE OBJECT IS NO LONGER THERE, THUS IT HAS NOT BEEN BURNED.

Enjoy the video! And crank it up!!

THIS IS NOT AN INSTRUCTIONAL VIDEO, I AM NOT A BASE JUMPING INSTRUCTOR. IT IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT PURPOSES ONLY. DO NOT GO AND ATTEMPT TO CLIMB A CRANE, LET ALONE JUMP OFF ONE BECAUSE YOU SAW MY POST.

@curie @steemit
#freefall #terminalvelocity #skydiving #basejumper #skydiver #frothing #fullfroth #frother #adventure #life #adrenaline #extremesports #adrenalinesports #gopro #travel #rockon #summereveryday #summer #sliderdown #subterminal #base #basejumping #basejump #europe #gonthrow #321cya #seeya #nightbase #nightbasejump #fullsend #basehouse #thebasehouse #rcanebasejump #atair #adrenalinbase #osp #lifeisforliving #vanlife #lifesforliving


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @basejumper
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow. Don't tell your mother.

haha don't worry, I don't ;-)

Nothing would scare me more!

Congratulations @basejumper! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79