Half Hour Songwrite Challenge WEEKLY RECAP & VOTE! - Pick your favorite songwrite to feature in Sunday's song-of-the-week post 💛 2/22/19 - a Dtube exclusive!

in #dtube5 years ago


It's the Half Hour Songwrite Challenge WEEKLY RECAP! 💛

This week's selections:

  1. CHRYSALIS (prompt: WHO WANTS TO LIVE FOREVER by @wakeupkitty)

  2. SEED (prompt: THE BOMARI by @owasco)

  3. BEYOND THE MOON (prompt: SACRIFICING VIRGINS by @wonderwop)

One of these entries will become a finished song. But which one? YOU decide, by voting for it! Simply comment the name and/or prompt of the song you'd like to see finished. The entry with the most votes will be outfitted with additional verses, choruses, bridges, codas, and other bells and whistles as needed, and arranged and recorded for Sunday's post. All voters will receive a 100% upvote from me as a thank you for weighing in :)

Remember: 1 vote here + 2 or more pick-a-prompt suggestions this week = 1 Steem Basic Income weekly participation prize :D

Thank you to all of the PICK-A-PROMPTers! So many amazing, creative, challenging, quirky, and occasionally laugh-out-loud wacky prompt ideas, I have as much fun reading prompts as I do writing songs :)

@dmilliz, @wonderwop, @iamjadeline, @mariannewest, @fitinfun, @roundbeargames, @kaelci, @cityofstars, @sugarfix, @wandrnrose7, @theureview, @marvyinnovation, @improv, @sunravelme, @mimismartypants, @girlbeforemirror, @praditya, @wakeupkitty, @alimamasstory, @owasco, @emergehealthier, @duanesworld,


HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing daily Dtube vlog. Each day I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by the Pick-a-Prompt contest, by a random word generator (https://wordcounter.net/random-word-generator), or by @mariannewest's daily freewrite on the Steem blockchain.

*PICK-A-PROMPT is a contest that runs every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday on Dtube. Winning prompts receive 3 Steem basic Income shares, and are used for the following day's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge! Pick-a-Prompters who participate 3 or more times in any given week (includes casting votes for the SUNDAY SONG OF THE WEEK) receive 1 SBI :)


Lyrics:


CHRYSALIS

Don't give up
Monsters are everywhere
But they can't hurt you
If you don't care about them
Don't care about them

Scared?
Me too
Where to run?
What to do?
But they can't hurt you
If you can live without them
So live without them

'Cause there is no escape from this
Death is but a chrysalis
And every grave a cradle
Every grave a cradle

Oh you don't have to live with this
Death is but a chrysalis
Let them die if they are able
Die if they are able

And run
Run
Not from
But to the one
That you want to become
You want to become

Run
Run
Not from
But to the one
That you want to become
You want to become

Go on
Run


SEED

I am your pain
I am your broken thing
Let me lie here in the dirt
Come back for me in spring

You'll find me grown
Into something new
Something bearing
Gifts for you
To use
Until
They break

So plant me
In a corner
Of your garden
In winter
I promise to
Come back to you
If you water me with your tears

Oh plant me
In a corner
Of your garden
In winter
I promise to
Come back to you
If you water me with your tears


BEYOND THE MOON

She's got the strangest eyes
I've ever seen
Always watching something
No one else can see

Blind to the dark
Likewise the light
Staring at what
Lies behind

This life
This life
Is over too soon
And I want to fly
With you
Beyond the moon


©2018 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


#awesomediycontent


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

!sbi status

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bennettitalia!

  • you have 145 units and 25 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 1956718162245 or 1.318 $
  • as you did not wrote a post within the last 7 days, your comments will be upvoted.
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.053 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 76.03 % has come from your subscription level
  • 19.71 % has come from your bonus units
  • 4.26 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.00 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    A pending upvote balance is tracked for you in our database. Each time you post, your balance is drawn down by up to 20%. If you post again before that amount is replenished, your next upvote will be smaller. Our minimum upvote for posts is $0.012. Your balance accumulates until a minimum upvote can be delivered with 20% of your pending balance.

where are you man??
2 weeks without videos?

Hello my friend! Serious life changes happening...happy ones. Planning on doing a post about it tomorrow. The HHSC is on hiatus for now, but big plans for the future. Stay tuned!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol no, I already have a day job. I work construction 5 days/week. I do the vlog after work and on weekends. Housing is scarce in our little town and our current (temporary) living situation is quickly losing its charm. We are looking for a new place with my gf, who has moved in with us. Once settled into our new place, the vlog will be retooled and possibly rebranded, with a dedicated steemit channel and mirrored on a dedicated YouTube channel. YouTube viewers will be able to see the videos but unable to participate in contests or vote for the Sunday Song of the Week. We'll have better recording and video equipment, and possibly guest appearances. And also (hopefully relatively quickly) will begin raising money to record a CD with songs from the HHSC episodes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome!
by the way, the white boy who sometimes shows himself with you in your videos, is he your son?

Yes, that's my boy :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha great songs man ! Followed !

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey man, thanks! Glad you like them :)

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a very tough choice, but I'm going with the haunting "beyond the moon"

Thank you for voting! Man this is so close...

Posted using Partiko Android

The songs are cool... I was wondering if you formulated them yourself

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @chrisbarth, thank you! Yes, I did. Usually each week I start 3 songs, and at the end of the week I ask people which they would like to see finished. The Half Hour Songwrite Challenge is on hold for a while due to life events, but we'll be back soon with more contests and more song writing. Nice to meet you and thanks for tuning in!

Posted using Partiko Android

my choice will be for number 3 "Beyond the moon"

Thank you for voting! <3

Posted using Partiko Android

I go for no. 1 which is me 😁 happy sunday

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for voting! <3

Posted using Partiko Android

CHRYSALIS by @wakeupkitty since it reminds me of her :)

Thanks I vote for me too 💖

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for voting! <3

Posted using Partiko Android

My favorite is Beyond the Moon.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm gonna have to go with "Beyond the Moon" because it freaking rocks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for voting! <3 and for the compliment :)

Posted using Partiko Android

RUN TO THE ONE :)
awesome song.. CHRYSALIS for me

Thank you for voting my friend! I think it's kinda awesome that we now have a tie this week... I don't know which I'd pick, may have to do posts for both!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85