Half Hour Songwrite Challenge WEEKLY RECAP & VOTE! - Pick your favorite songwrite to feature in Sunday's song-of-the-week post 💛 2/14/19 - a Dtube exclusive!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


It's the Half Hour Songwrite Challenge WEEKLY RECAP! 💛

This week's selections:

  1. ANGELS' WINGS (prompt: WALKING ON HOT COALS by @owasco)

  2. NEW BREED (prompt: THE BOY WHO CRIED WEREWOLF by @emergehealthier)

  3. HOME (prompt: HOUSE PARTY FAIL by @wonderwop)

One of these entries will become a finished song. But which one? YOU decide, by voting for it! Simply comment the name and/or prompt of the song you'd like to see finished. The entry with the most votes will be outfitted with additional verses, choruses, bridges, codas, and other bells and whistles as needed, and arranged and recorded for Sunday's post. All voters will receive a 100% upvote from me as a thank you for weighing in :)

Remember: 1 vote here + 2 or more pick-a-prompt suggestions this week = 1 Steem Basic Income weekly participation prize :D

Thank you to all of the PICK-A-PROMPTers! So many amazing, creative, challenging, quirky, and occasionally laugh-out-loud wacky prompt ideas, I have as much fun reading prompts as I do writing songs :)

@dmilliz, @wonderwop, @iamjadeline, @mariannewest, @fitinfun, @roundbeargames, @kaelci, @cityofstars, @sugarfix, @wandrnrose7, @theureview, @marvyinnovation, @improv, @sunravelme, @mimismartypants, @girlbeforemirror, @praditya, @wakeupkitty, @alimamasstory, @owasco, @emergehealthier, @duanesworld,


HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing daily Dtube vlog. Each day I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by the Pick-a-Prompt contest, by a random word generator (https://wordcounter.net/random-word-generator), or by @mariannewest's daily freewrite on the Steem blockchain.

*PICK-A-PROMPT is a contest that runs every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday on Dtube. Winning prompts receive 3 Steem basic Income shares, and are used for the following day's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge! Pick-a-Prompters who participate 3 or more times in any given week (includes casting votes for the SUNDAY SONG OF THE WEEK) receive 1 SBI :)


Lyrics:


ANGELS' WINGS

For you I would walk across hot coals
My soul is yours to keep
The Devil's tried so many times
To steal what I give you willingly
Life may be fragile
But so is death
And I want to be by your side
For every breath
So I'd better learn to trust you
With breakable things
They say even the Devil once had angels' wings


NEW BREED

Don't believe me it's ok
But you'll be sorry that you sent me outside to play

When I said to run I meant to run away
When I said to run I meant to run away

I can't kill what I am
You should've killed me when you had the chance

When I said to run I meant to run away
When I said to run I meant to run away

Now it's too late
To believe
What you want to believe
You can't escape
Reality
By turning a blind eye
There's a full moon in the sky
Remember when I cried wolf?
That's why you'll cry when you see me
That's why you'll cry when you see me

That's why you'll cry

It's a blessing in disguise
But there's no way you could've known that at the time

Now it's too late
For you to see
What you wanted to see
You can't play
Hide and seek
By turning a blind eye
There's a full moon in the sky
Remember when I cried wolf?
That's why you'll cry when you see me
That's why you'll cry when you see me

That's why you'll cry
That's why you'll cry
We are a new breed
See the moon in our eyes?

A feral moon in
A feral sky
We are the new breed
Find yourselves
In our eyes


HOME

This is supposed to be fun
But I just want to run away
Is it ok
If I sit here next to you?

'Cause you seem unsure
Whether to go or stay
And I don't even wanna try
Anymore
Don't wanna drink
Just because I'm bored
Don't feel like talking
When there's nothing to say

What's so great about oblivion anyway?
I'll take the way you wear infinity any day
I'll take the stars in the sky at night
Let's walk outside
Stare into space
'Cause it's never too late to go home
To go home
To go
You know it's never too late to go home
To go home

Let me take you home


©2018 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I'm going with Angels' Wings because I want to hear @owasco sing. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

ANGELS' WINGS is my choice 😄

I am so impressed that you are still on it!!

I like # 2

Whoah! It's neck and neck...

Posted using Partiko Android

2 The boy who cried werewolf!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @bennettitalia!

You just got a 9.37% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.342 which ranks you at #7762 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 40 places in the last three days (old rank 7722).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #77.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98