HALF HOUR SONGWRITE - 3/6/19 - HOME - A retroactive retreat for @wonderwop's PARTY FAIL Pick-a-Prompt - a Dtube exclusive!

in #dtube5 years ago


It's unhappy hour at the HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE!

@wonderwop's HOUSE PARTY DISASTER prompt made me want to leave, so I did. Let's go home...

Congratulations @wonderwop, 4 Steem Basic Income shares coming your way :)

Thanks as always to all the promptketeers! You guys rock in an epic manner and I literally couldn't do this without you :)


Lyrics:

HOME

This is supposed to be fun
But I just want to run away
Is it ok
If I sit here next to you?

'Cause you look unsure
Whether to go or stay
And I don't even wanna try
Anymore
Don't want to drink
Just because I'm bored
Don't feel like talking
When there's nothing to say

What's so great about oblivion anyway?
I'll take the way you wear infinity any day
I'll take the stars in the sky at night
Let's walk outside
Stare into space
'Cause it's never too late to go home
To go home
To go
You know it's never too late to go home
To go home

Let me take you home


© 2019 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing daily Dtube vlog. Each day I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by viewer suggestion through the PICK-A-PROMPT contest, or by @mariannewest's daily freewrite on the Steem blockchain.

On Sunday I'll be finishing one song from this week's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge, and posting the completed version. But on THURSDAY you, the viewers, get to decide which one! Thursday's video will feature numbered clips of each of the song fragments composed this week, and you get to vote for the one you'd most like to see made into a finished song. So be sure to tune in on Thursday and vote!

@tibfox, @dmilliz, @wonderwop, @freecrypto, @iamjadeline, @toufiqurrahman32, @mariannewest, @jasonrussell, @fitinfun, @roundbeargames, @chireerocks, @vincy, @botefarm, @wordymouth, @sumit71428, @onnovocks, @jesuslnrs, @josediccus, @kaelci, @rachel1998, @max1994, @perry1, @masud91, @cityofstars, @sugarfix, @wandrnrose7, @theureview, @kaerpediem, @marvyinnovation, @improv, @sunravelme, @freecrypto, @sumit71428, @sima369, @girlbeforemirror, @mimismartypants



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

upvoted + resteemed :)

Thanks for the fabulous song and the SBI units. It was worth the wait. 👏

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome my friend! Thanks for another awesome prompt :)

Posted using Partiko Android

What's so great about oblivion anyway?
I love this song. Way to go @wonderwop!
And of course @bennettitalia. I am in awe that you can do this in 30 minutes. What happens if you belabor one?

:D I've got a little looser with the time frame these days. For instance, while I wrote most of NEW BREED in 30 minutes, I then went and did something completely different and the second part just came to me. It was outside the time window, but I added it anyway when recording. HOME was a little more difficult bc there's more pain to the theme than is apparent in the lyrics so far, which if I were to keep writing would probably show more. It took about 45 minutes and then I forgot the vocal melody (which almost never happens these days, must've been meant to change it) and consequently had to rewrite the music in the process of getting ready to record it. So definitely longer than 1/2 hour on that one.

Angels' wings, on the other hand, took like 15. So well within the window ;D

When I first started I was very strict about the timeframe but now I pretty much just do my best to fit within it. I'm a single parent and a struggling artist and work construction for a day job, so I have to give myself room to breathe where I can lol.

whew

Felt good to get that off my chest XD

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bennettitalia!

  • you have 130 units and 25 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 655302235340 or 0.399 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.080 $


    Did you know Steem Basic Income has a Quality Policy?

Hi, @bennettitalia!

You just got a 12.21% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.342 which ranks you at #7762 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 40 places in the last three days (old rank 7722).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #106.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79