HALF HOUR SONGWRITE - 1/9/19 - MY OWN BUSINESS - A Harrowing Heroic Happenstance for @improv's Pick-a-Prompt: THE POWER TO MATCH SOCKS - a Dtube exclusive

in #dtube5 years ago


It's a superpowered HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE!

Tonight's sock-it-to-me prompt comes from @improv, who entered it in yesterday's Pick-a-Prompt contest "What Superpower Would You Like To Have?". Congratulations @improv! 3 Steem Basic Income shares coming your way :)

While this was a very fun prompt to write to, I had nowhere near enough time to tell the whole story of The Matchmaker, a superhero with the power of extreme static cling who battles the nefarious Sock Puppet Master, a diabolical ubervillain whose evil lair resides in an alternate dimension (often referred to as "the vortex") which, it has been theorized (though never proven), has a habit of abducting unwary socks. The evil SPM uses his nanotech sewing machine (taking advantage of the extreme natural distress of socks separated from their sole mates) to transform these into vicious sock puppet monsters, building an army with which he plans to take over the world.

Unfortunately, he only has two hands, so can only operate two at a time... the poor guy's just not very bright.

So, yeah. But I got a start on it at least! Not bad for a (admittedly slightly pudgy) half hour...

Thank you thank you thank you to everyone who submitted prompts! You guys rock :)

Two more pick a prompt contests coming up this week, which means two more chances to win! <3

HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing daily Dtube vlog. Each day I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by a random word generator (https://wordcounter.net/random-word-generator), by viewer suggestion through a "Pick-a-Prompt" contest, or by @mariannewest's daily freewrite on the Steem blockchain.

If you have a prompt that you'd like to see me try, enter it in the current "Pick-a-Prompt" contest (posted 5 days a week on my Steemit and Dtube blogs). If I use your prompt I will send you 5 SBI as a thank you!

On Sunday I'll be finishing one song from this week's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge, and posting the completed version. But on SATURDAY you, the viewers, get to decide which one! Saturday's video will feature numbered clips of each of the song fragments composed this week, and you get to vote for the one you'd most like to see made into a finished song. So be sure to tune in on Saturday and vote!

Today's prompt is: "I'd have the power to match lone socks with their solemate."

Lyrics:

MY OWN BUSINESS

I'm just sitting minding my own business
When a little red light on my phone started flashing
Then I knew it was time to spring into action
So I swiped the screen
And just as I feared
It said: The Puppet Master's struck again
Oh no!
The Sock Puppet Master's struck again

See my life is anything but normal
Don't even ask how I got my superpowers
All I can tell you is never taker a shower
With the washing machine
Running a heavy duty clean
In the middle of a lightning storm
Oh no!
Not in the middle of a lightning storm

But there's no time for that now
I've got a sock to save
So I quick open up a portal
To that alternate plane
Where The Sock Puppet master lives
His only goal
To separate socks
Thus warping their soles
The better to take
Control of our world
With an army of sad
Little sock boys and girls
So twisted up inside with longing for their partners
That they've become vicious
Sock puppet monsters!


© 2019 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You absolutely pulled it off! It reminded both me and @stinawog of Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots by The Flaming Lips! Loved it. So proud to have been a part of its creation.

:D grinning from ear to ear right now, so glad you both liked it, and also glad Yoshimi didn't occur to me when I was writing it or it might have turned out very differently! The subconscious works in mysterious ways...

i liked this song and congratulations for the winner @improv

Thank you @cityofstars! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Also I'm very interested to see what your response is going to be to the latest Pick-a-Prompt Contest, WHAT WOULD YOU NAME YOUR STAR! https://steemit.com/dtube/@bennettitalia/1grqy6a6

;D

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.222 which ranks you at #8470 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 8473).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #128.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85