SUNDAY SONGWRITE OF THE WEEK - 3/10/19 - NEW BREED - a Dtube exclusive!

in #dtube5 years ago


It's the Half Hour Songwrite Challenge SUNDAY SONG OF THE WEEK! 💛

Thanks so much to everyone who weighed in this week! It was a toss up between NEW BREED and ANGELS' WINGS... NEW BREED won by a coin toss. But look for a full version of ANGELS' WINGS coming up soon! :)

I butchered the lyrics in several places, but other than that this was a reasonable performance I think. The full lyrics are printed below.

A heartfelt thanks to all of you for listening, commenting, and suggesting such interesting prompts :)


HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing Dtube vlog. Three times/week I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by viewers through the Pick-a-Prompt Contest. On the fourth day I recap the week's writes, and ask viewers to vote for their favorite. The winning piece is finished up and posted as the song of the week on Sunday.

Pick-a-Prompt is a contest that runs 3x/week on Dtube. I ask a random question, and viewers submit their answers. Winning prompts receive 4 Steem basic Income shares, and are used for the following day's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge! Promptketeers who participate in all three contests in any given week receive 1 SBI :)

Thank you thank you thank you to everyone who submitted prompts this week! So many amazing, creative, challenging, quirky, and occasionally laugh-out-loud wacky prompt ideas, I have as much fun reading prompts as I do writing songs. You guys rock epically :)

@dmilliz, @wonderwop, @iamjadeline, @mariannewest, @fitinfun, @roundbeargames, @kaelci, @cityofstars, @sugarfix, @wandrnrose7, @theureview, @marvyinnovation, @improv, @sunravelme, @mimismartypants, @girlbeforemirror, @praditya, @wakeupkitty, @alimamasstory, @owasco, @emergehealthier, @duanesworld,



Lyrics:

NEW BREED

Don't believe me it's ok
But you'll be sorry that you sent me outside to play

When I said to run I meant to run away
When I said to run I meant to run away

I can't kill what I am
You should've killed me when you had the chance

When I said to run I meant to run away
When I said to run I meant to run away

Now it's too late
To believe
What you want to believe
You can't escape
Reality
By turning a blind eye
There's a full moon in the sky
Remember when I cried wolf?
That's why you'll cry when you see me
That's why you'll cry when you see me

That's why you'll cry

It's a blessing in disguise
But there's no way you could've known that at the time

Now it's too late
For you to see
What you wanted to see
You can't play
Hide and seek
By turning a blind eye
There's a full moon in the sky
Remember when I cried wolf?
That's why you'll cry when you see me
That's why you'll cry when you see me

That's why you'll cry
That's why you'll cry
We are the new breed
See the moon in our eyes?

A feral moon in
A feral sky
We are the new breed
Find yourselves
In our eyes

'Cause it's too late
To believe
What we want to believe
You can't change
Reality
By turning a blind eye
There's a full moon in the sky
Remember when I cried wolf?
That's why you'll cry when you see me
That's why you'll cry when you see me

That's why you'll cry
That's why you'll cry
We are the new breed
See the moon in our eyes?

A feral moon in
A feral sky
We are the new breed
Find yourselves
In our eyes


© 2019 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

nice song man!!

Problems with Dtube uploader this morning and double posted 😱

Posted using Partiko Android

ohh i see

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.349 which ranks you at #7704 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 14 places in the last three days (old rank 7718).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #178.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98