d.tube VLOG #2 || In which I make some turkey sliders!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Click (oddly tiny?) thumbnail for video!

This video is featuring me literally SLAPPING together something that I could eat quickly in the morning before work for the week (witness my MASTERFUL knife skills, cutting board sliding wildly across my counter—it's a miracle I still have all my fingers. This is also my very first recipe video, ever—and surprisingly, not my first time chopping vegetables!

This video also features the musical stylings of Vinyl Fatigue, awesome Jungle and Drum and Bass producer & DJ. Steve and I go back like Similac...or well to high school, at least. Massive thanks to him for the tunes (and, know that he gets a percentage of whatever upvotes we get, because ALL ARTISTS deserve to be paid for their work! Also know that Steve's immediate response to my request to use his song was "TLDR; Yes you can use 'How Can I', I'm at work now but I'll send you a HQ version!" WHAT A BUDDY!)

Back to the recipe:

Unfortunately, I'm not big on all foods that could make my morning easier: yogurt, fruit, smoothies, granola or anything sweet in the morning, I just don't feel great after I eat sweet things, and I just don't crave it.

If it wouldn't kill me, I would alternate mornings eating mangu (Dominican breakfast, see actual photo below) that @domirep cooks for me, or eggs benedict cooked by my mom, or a fresh, hot everything bagel from A&S Bagel in Franklin Square, with lox, cream cheese, red onion, and tomato on it.

[Behold: Homemade Mangu!]

mangu.jpg

Since I can't do that every day because I don't have health insurance to cover a heart attack, I thought avocado, baked sweet potato, and these delectable turkey sliders featuring mushrooms, mixed greens, and red and green onion, would hit the spot.

I'm no chef, but, these taste great, not to toot my own horn—the truth is, I have massive amounts of garlic to thank for not being able to have leftovers of my food most of the time.

toomuchgarlicno.jpg

I also don't follow recipes when I cook, I tend to not have all the ingredients when I look up recipes, so I've gotten good at working with what I have around the house. And I do stuff based on taste, I like a lotta onions, you might not, you might want to use Vidalia instead of red onions, you do you, it's your world!!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 lb of ground turkey meat
  • 1 celery stick
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1-2 scallions (I love onions, if you couldn't tell)
  • Um...I guess a heaping handful of mushrooms, finely chopped, doesn't matter, I had white ones on hand.
  • Handful of leafy greens

All spices to taste! If I had powdered ginger or rosemary on hand, I would've added!

  • Garlic powder
  • Sea salt
  • Black pepper
  • Cumin
    -I used a spice blend from Brooklyn Spices called Tuscan Savory Herb that I got at Whole Foods that mysteriously doesn't list ALL spices in it but it's very peppery and I put it on a ton of stuff!

DIRECTIONS
Chop all the veggies to your desired consistency (I like 'em finely to coarsely chopped), heat up a large pan on medium heat, use the oil of your choice (I used olive oil this time), add veggies (except leafy greens) to pan, season to taste with spices. While that's cooking, use a fork to mash up your turkey meat in a large bowl, season meat to taste and mix. After about...8-10 mins the veggies should be soft and done, add the leafy greens and cook for another minute or two. Add veggies to meat and mix. I used a 1/4 cup measure to make the meat balls. Makes about 10-12 patties. Using the same pan, I didn't even add oil, I just put the patties on medium-high heat, mashed em down like so, cooked on each side until they were golden brown (about 3-4 mins), the juices would sorta coat the patties in the pan. Good stuff.

Honestly, 3 patties was a bit much, two is enough...that much meat gives me a rock in my stomach (probably a cue that I need to eat less meat in general...I know, I know. Vegan recipes to come!)

Thank you so much for reading and watching! What's your favorite thing to eat for breakfast? What challenges do you face in feeding yourself healthy and delicious foods and how do you overcome them? Let me know if you try this recipe and how it goes! Please let me know in the comments! <3


Music credit: "How Can I" by Vinyl Fatigue

Follow Vinyl Fatigue:
FACEBOOK || https://www.facebook.com/Vinyl.Fatigue1200/
YOUTUBE || https://www.youtube.com/user/VinylFatigueDJ/videos
SOUNDCLOUD || https://soundcloud.com/vinyl-fatigue/tracks

All contents in this post (including but not limited to copy, photographs, original art, and videos) are copyright Heather Bernklau & Berry Thief Studios unless otherwise specified. Do not use any contents without written permission directly from the artist...you know...me...I don't bite, shoot me a message if you'd like to use my work, let's talk! Help me help you!

INSTAGRAM || @berrythiefstudios
FACEBOOK || www.facebook.com/berrythief
ETSY || www.etsy.com/shop/berrythiefstudios
WEB || www.berrythiefstudios.com
STEEMIT || https://steemit.com/@berrythief
![TurkeyPatties_Clip1.00_02_01_08.Still002.jpg]

Sort:  

Damn this one has all kinda technical glitches with my images. Oh well!

Yo, I had no issues viewing. Tasty looking dish. Smart, posting this in morning, get all of us while still hungry. More please, always hungry here. RESPECT

Haha thanks! Please let me know if you try this out how it goes! Cheers!

I love the editing skills you incorporated into this video!! Not only did I learn how to make something new but its wasn't draggy and boring.
Thank you Heather :)

Awww yesss thank you for noticing my effort with the snaps! I like to be cheeky. More to come :) <3

I wonder if this will convice me to eat turkey burgers 🤔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43