Lady Steem Chat - Why PC Culture is Killing America

in #dtube6 years ago


Hi guys!

So today I talk with you guys a little bit about this concept of PC culture and why I believe it is the driving force that is absolutely strangling the United States. Everything has to be "woke" and politically correct, to the point where nothing is even real or meaningful anymore.

I am by no means against real progress, but I don't think that PC culture is the way to achieve it. It's just a means for SJW's to pat themselves on the back thinking that they made an actual change.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

How can a society advance if no one dares to push edges? PC culture is just communism in a veiled disguise

But it's brilliant. It has single handedly made different groups of people hate each other, with little more than skewed reporting and sleight of hand. Our overlords will always have reign over us...

I grew up in communism and when I first heard those words Political Correctness bandied about in the west, I broke in cold sweat.
We had Political Correctness too, exactly the same term. And it meant one thing - gulag.
I couldn't believe then that something like that could even be considered in the "free world" - don't you guys know where it leads, what it means?!
Well I can see that people in the west are now finally waking up to what an odious concept Political Correctness is. Finally.

I kind of experienced a communist inclined government too, and I have the same feeling when I see, hear, or experience similar tendencies in other countries. It's like people need to live it in order to understand that it's a terrible thing. I hope you're right, and people wake up to it and push back.

Hollywood thinks its great, and Hollywood runs America, sadly.

I completely agree with you. Even though I'm not American, it's pretty much the most influential culture in the world. Therefore, there's no escaping PC culture. It's getting more and more ANNOYING. What you mentioned about comedians is the reason why Bill Burr is one of the few who remain funny. He pretty much doesn't give a F*ck...

I have mad respect for every comedian that DGAF. Haha.

I think it all boils down to attention. A lot of the people aren't necessarily against something, in particular, they just know if they make a big fuss about it, it will get them attention. Just like I don't think as many people hate the word moist as claim to. I think they just say they don't and cringe at it because it has become social acceptable to hate the word moist. :) That's just my opinion though.

Haha I have never really thought about it that way! That's probably true though!

Thought-provoking. I agree, we can embrace each others differences, but we don't need to shove it down each other's throats. :D

I feel like America (and Canada) is just so sensitive to everything now. So many first world issues going on. We don't have babies dying in our arms after a bombers smash through out city so we're just finding things to whine about. I still remember being in school and not being able to say "Merry Christmas" LOL "You should say Happy Holiday's." ....okay....but it's Christmas?

Good post, Beth!

#onelovedtube

Have you seen the latest H3H3 video? I know we shouldn't promote a youtuber, but I think they're awesome. They completely addressed this! It's very surprising to see because Ethan is a well know liberal, and he clearly has had it with PC culture. Let me know your thoughts about it if you see it!

Oooo I will check that out!

We agree again on the PC culture. It is killing us. I think I am just going to build a wall around my house and start my own country :-)

I hear you. It's just dumb.

I think it's important to remember that the director for A Wrinkle in Time is a black woman. That's why you are seeing Extra black representation because she produces her work through the lens of blackness. Honestly, I think a lot of the pushback against PC culture from white people is because you are used to being seen as the "default human" in mass media. It's weird and different seeing a cast lacking white representation.

I care about social justice but I don't care for PC culture. I don't like the idea of people being afraid to speak their minds or walking on eggshells. I think we should be honest with each other. I believe we can recognize our real differences in experience and still be respectful and kind. A lot of times the overly PC are compensating for their latent -isms.

I think that's cool, but if it changes the core message of the movie from "fun, beloved children's literature" to "leaving the theatre having received yet another lesson on social justice" it's a nay from me. I want to go to a movie to be entertained, not lectured through indirect reference. If the movie were just literally race-swapped, then whatevs, but from what I have been reading, the movie seems to lecture those who are not "woke" enough. Spare me. (Granted this was just from reviews, so I couldn't tell you for sure if the movie's plot itself is any good, but Rotten Tomatoes gave it just over a 40 and gave Black Panther a 100. So it's clear that the "bias" of it being not good isn't racially motivated.)

I hear you. I can’t speak on the content of either the book or the movie. I haven’t read it and I haven’t been following the movie reviews.

I really agree with you very much. in our country may also be less pc ... thanks

I agree with you @bethwheatcraft, think there are still people who think that being gay is a disease AHAHA
Great article! (and fuck the politically correct!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94