Women in Tech - How Lady Steem Will Bring More Women to the Blockchain

in #dtube6 years ago


Hi guys!!!

So I am more pumped than ever as the hubs and I map out what the next 6 months or so will look like as far as our creative projects for Outside the Vox! I will be releasing a video some time in the next few days with him explaining what our 2018 "season" is going to look like!!!

In the meantime, I am hard at work writing some scripts for a "Lady Steem Educational Series". These are going to be the videos that I start releasing in place of my typical selfie videos (which I will still utilize mainly for updates!!!) The purpose of this series is not so much for my dtube audience, but to release on dtube to draw users in to the platform. I am going to have multiple videos explaining all about the blockchain and decentralization and how different groups of people can best use that to their advantage.

More specifically though, I am targeting a female demographic. I think representation is important in this regard. I am usually not sold on that idea, but it has been made very clear in recent years that iconic women in movies and tv have absolutely inspired women to take jobs that are traditionally held by men.

The Dana Scully effect for instance:

https://www.pastemagazine.com/articles/2017/02/examining-the-scully-effect-in-todays-generation.html

Many women have said that they pursued a degree in the sciences because of Dana Scully's character on the X-Files. To be honest, she inspired me to want to be a police officer. It is amazing what seeing undeniably bad-ass women can do for a little girl's spirit.

All this being said, I know I am no Dana Scully. I can't pretend to be an awesome Dr. FBI Agent that keeps a crazy alien-chaser in check and examines dead bodies. I don't have the captivated audience of millions of people, but I do have 3k. I have built a small following. I want to grow that following, and I hope to inspire girls and women everywhere that you don't have to be male to love decentralization and crypto, that you don't even have to understand it fully, and that many men even struggle to grasp its complications. Perhaps this goal is lofty, but even if I inspire a few people, that's enough for me.

You Guys, I am SO EXCITED. I feel like I am finally finding my groove in what I am meant to be doing here, and I can't wait to start on all of this!

Stay tuned for an OTV video this week about our upcoming season, and some in-between update videos on our projects! Also, stay tuned for the first Lady Steem Educational video!

Thanks for all of your awesome support! You guys are the bees knees!

xoxox ~ Lady Steem


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Sweet steem punk pic, good to see a push to get more women into the field.

Congrats, you made the #steemitminute for today!

Click the Image Below


I agree! We need more women on Steem! :)

Resteemed

Sadly, I wasn't able to watch the video as there appear's to be some issues with the IPFS servers since the V 0.7 update. Fortunately, you also put most of your information in the description. I'm not one to plan things out as you have done, but I'm starting to realize how important it can be, as far as doing YouTube/Dtube as a business.

You seem to have the drive, energy, and motivation to deliver your message to women. I wish you the best of luck. Upvoted to help out fellow creators in the community and to help support your direction.

I really wish lady steem push through with this

Nice you post
I like this

Congratulations @bethwheatcraft, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1545 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $8863.87. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Can't wait to see lady steem:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84