You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do your Shitposts Get More Engagement than Content that Took Hours to Make?

in #dtube5 years ago

I don't define a "shitpost" by the amount of time it took to make it, but rather the intent of the post. If I'm a whale and I'm posting a picture of my toliet just so I have something for all my bidbots and my self voting to make me money on - then that is a SHITPOST - literally. And the trending feed is filled with them, which is why I never go there. I hate for newcomers to go there too because it gives the entirely wrong impression of what the content creators are here for. Now if you make a quick post, like you did, of a gym post, and encourage people to get more active, and end it with a quetion for engagement - no, that is NOT a shitpost. But what do I know - I'm just a minnow who likes to write fiction....

Sort:  

You "literally" comment made me laugh out loud!! haha

Yeah like I said in the video...i actually don't think my gym post is actual shit because I think there is value - but was more using it as an example of "quick posts" vs. posts that took a lot of time.

I think you make an awesome point though!! The intent behind a post should be weighted in this discussion too.

Thanks for the thoughtful response!

I totally agree with BlueEyes here... I totally think that if it's a quick post designed just to collect autovotes, then yep... and you can usually tell these by the lack of comments or the lack (or shortness) of replies to those comments.

You could literally just post "How are we all feeling today?" with no other content and if it created a ton of interaction and conversation then I'd absolutely say it adds value.

I'm glad I'm not the only one that thinks of Chris Trager when I hear the word "literally". 😂

I don't think me or my partner can actually say the word without the Chris Trager emphasis.

Glad you caught the toliet vs shitpost reference, lol. You just gotta laugh at the situation sometimes. 😀

Haha i've haven't seen a toilet post yet but i juts started back on steemit. Does anyone think they are going to fix this bot issue anytime soon?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63814.67
ETH 3194.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90