2 Minutes with the Farmer: The Raw Milk Debate!!!

in #dtube5 years ago


Today here on 2 Minutes with the Farmer we are going to be talking about Raw milk. This is a subject that is near and dear to my heart as our family has our very own family milk cow. I have also worked at a commercial dairy and have seen both sides of the coin. I hope you enjoy the talk I know it is a little longer than my usual 2 minutes but I got a little carried away.

Thank you for spending 2 minutes with me!
@bowentroyer


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I love such Vlogs on countryside and the life there

Thank you sir!!!

First off let me say this was a great video! Our cattle and calves are about getting to the point were we could start getting some milk. After reading and talking to some people in our local area, several of them recommend getting several tests done on the cows milk.

What do you think about this/do you think it is necessary? If so, what tests do you recommend?

My personal opinion is do whatever you are most comfortable with. If it makes u feel better to run the tests then go for it. We do not do any tests on our milk. Our cow is healthy and happy if she was acting sick or not looking right then we would just simple not drink the milk.

I love raw milk! I currently drink a lite pasteurized milk that is from a local operation. I was in a cooperative for a awhile where we got around the state raw milk laws by being part owner of the operation.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have heard doing the co ownership thing. Raw milk is the best. Thanks for watching

How many head of cattle you have?

We have 101 mama cows.

Thats a solid number to take care of. You said "mama cows", so do you not keep steers? I track financial markets daily and still watch the price of live cattle. Futures contracts topped out last month at $130 ish per 100lb, at $121 right now. I don't watch feeder or dressed prices tho.

We keep around 50 to 100 feeders at a time. We have 70 right now. It is my full time job and I love it.

Keep up the good work! Honestly never woulda thought Id find something like this here on steemit.

Glad I could surprise you;)

2 minutes right! lol. howdy sir Farmer! hey that homemade cream makes the worlds best hand-churned ice cream too!
Yeah these milk laws are insane, I don't know why they have them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95