You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Boycotting Dtube... And Here's Why

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

@frathiemann, I’ve heard this argument over and over as I’ve covered this topic but it really doesn’t make any sense. You see... Dtube isn’t paying you anything. The steem blockchain is. Dtube is simply hosting your videos and charging you for it.

For a full-time content creator who is used to YouTube revenue then I see why you would make the comparison. You're getting a bigger cut and no censorship (at least not from Google anymore). I've seen several comments on YouTube from people telling me that 25% is no big deal because of what YouTube pays out. So I get that. But again, dtube isn’t paying you anything. They’re a middle man between you and the blockchain.

And honestly, that hasn't nothing to do with me anyways since I have never been paid anything from YouTube for my videos. And I've built my Steem following almost solely from Steemit.com. So really I just need a place to host my videos so that I can share them on Steemit which is what I'll do now. I may never rely on Dtube for acquiring a following as it's just too pricey compared to Steemit which is free. And after polling my following I don’t believe any of them originally followed me bc of dtube. It was because they found me on Steemit.

I guess that's the real comparison - Dtube for 75% of your rewards? Or Steemit for 100% of your rewards? I've noticed a lot of big YouTubers come to Steemit and embed their YT videos and now I think I know why. It really makes more sense... for now. Because even if YouTube doesn’t pay them out that much, or they demonetize their video, at least they can still share that same video with Steemit without having to upload it anywhere else or share their rewards with dtube.

So I think you should really think this through. Because until dtube moves to its own blockchain (which will likely happen someday) they’re charging you 25% to use to build their application with no end in sight for these fees. And while we all wanna stick it to YouTube, Dtube isn’t exactly being decentralized and they’re charging you for something you can do for free. Heck, you can upload your videos to DLive just like Dtube absolutely free. So if you want to leave YouTube completely then choose DLive. 👌🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 70976.53
ETH 3850.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48