Upvoting bots and bots in general - Let's be real ! Day 49 !

in #dtube6 years ago


Upvoting bots are programs or algorithms that control a steem account. They usually upvote steemians for certain amount of steem or steem dollar sent to them. They also can resteem a post or comment automatically. It's just like robots built by developers to make their work easy. We have a lot of people on steemit who use upvoting bots and even me, I used them a few months ago thinking that it will help me grow on steem blockchain, but I was wrong.

Usually bots don't make people who use them earn profit, they are made just for visibility. Even though, that visibility doesn't guarantee that other people will follow you and always upvote your stuff. When you send to a bot 1 steem or steem dollar, you receive an upvote worth about $2 , but the problem is that those $2 are not all yours and they're not making you earn profit. Because the half of that will go to steem power, and it's about 1 steem power, and the other half will be divided between you and people who upvoted you, and even a part will go back to that upvoting bot like a curation reward. So you will send 1 steem or steem dollar and receive even less.

Also people delegate steem power to upvote bots to support their growth and keep doing that and creating other upvote bots as well. Most of upvote bots now share a big amount of their earning to people who delegate to them, I saw even bots sharing 90% and 95% with steemians because even those 5% that they earn is still very profitable for them. Some famous people on steemit and even witnesses became upvoting bots as well. And a lot of people are now becoming upvoting bots even if their power is just about 1000 and their upvote is $0.1 or even less. That hurts the community of course.

Let's just imagine that bots will do evething in steem blockchain. They may post because there are a lot of services that allow us to schedule a post, so it's very possible to create a bot doing that. They can write articles and post them if they just take other articles from the web and edit them a bit. They can choose pictures from the web or just take pictures and share them automatically. They even can record a video, let's say in places where a lot of interesting things are happening and they will upload them to dtube or dlive or whatever. Will people stay here after that ?

I'm not against upvoting bots or something, I'm against the way they work. Maybe they are useful for rich people who want just to promote their posts. But the problem is that a lot of people get confused and think that if they send 1 steem and receive an upvote about $2, they earned profit from that. I'm inviting a lot of people to steem blockcain and I care about them, because I have been doing that for more than 1 year now, I don't want people to blame me after, they have to know the truth.

Maybe some of you will tell me: "Why were you upvoting people for steem or steem dollar before ?" I will tell you, I was doing my best to triple upvotes, but not to double it, and our total upvote with my partners was just about $0.6, so people sent 0.2 and received $0.6, it was divided into 2, the total they recieved is 0.3, if 0.05 went to curators, then the profit was 0.05 + visibility in my group with more than 19k members. So I did my best to make people earn profit from that and not just visibility. But now I stopped that because I didn't find people who will support the idea. Most partners decided to give their delegation to upvote bots and earn more instead of giving more to people and make them happy.

Anyway, I think supporting bots is not good at all. We are people and we have to support real people. That's why I moved completely to @dtube and I'm now upvoting only dtube's videos. Because it's easy to tell if the person is real or not. I upvote only videos with faces and I make sure that the face is of that person, not of another or taken from other video.

Let's care about the platform more instead of caring just about money and earning !

P1140631.JPG

Subscribe on my youtube channel here

The music used is from : www.bensound.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for the good and easy explanation and showing the hopefully never coming effect of supporting Voting- and Creation-Bots. But there are some good bots helping us to sweep the dust or identifying spammers.

I see a good progress in your videos. Not just the equipment. Also your way of talking and how confident you are. Thumbs up ! :)

Thanks a lot. ☺ I'm doing my best. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83