Steemit Open Mic Week #119 // On My Own from Les Miserables

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I am so excited to share this open mic entry with you. It feels a little nostalgic, because my second open mic entry (well over a year ago) was actually a song from the musical Les Miserables as well.

I had the incredible opportunity to be a part of this musical my senior year of high school (more years ago than I'm wiling to admit) and have been in love with the music ever since.

Trying to tackle pieces like this is really challenging. Not only was the piano part more difficult than most - but vocally, I always worry that I won't do big songs like this justice. Not sure I can say I did -but I decided to go for it anyway. This soundtrack seriously makes me cry whenever I hear it, and so I tried to keep it together long enough to make this video!

I especially love the agony of this song and how she realizes the man she loves doesn't even see her and is in love with someone else. I hope you guys can keep the emotion I left on the keys and enjoy my rendition of this classic song.

A Couple Shots From My Stage Production of Les Miserables


Here are a few shots from my experience acting in this musical! I didn't land a part - but was in "high chorus" which meant I had a ton of stage time and even a few solos. I was lucky enough to attend a private school that had a heavy focus on the arts - and many of the people who did land parts have gone on to be professional singers and actors ... so I don't feel too bad. :)

The funniest thing about this all... is my costume change between being a nun and a prostitue. I was "Prostitue #1" which meant I was the leading lady in that scene. The funny thing is that I was playing a nun in the scene right before hand, and so I literally had my prostitute costume on underneath my habit and literally had to run backstage... tear it off... and run back on stage.

IMG_3608.JPG

So innocent... little do they know. Actually me and my friend would always dance back stage singing "Smack That" by Akon and Eminem in our habit costumes for laughs for the crew before the show started. Who else remembers that song??

IMG_3606.JPG

Prostitute #2 so jelly.

IMG_3609.JPG

Time for a costume change. This is the "Tables and Chairs" scene where we mourned all of our friends dying.

IMG_3610.JPG

Closing scene... Do you hear the people sing?


I hope you guys enjoyed this post/video! Muah!

Sort:  

I've seen Le Mis live about 10 times in at least 3 languages and everything from excellent student groups to expensive professional performances.
You did very well with an exceedingly difficult piece.
I look forward to seeing others.

You took a lot of time with this performance and by opening up to share the personal story behind it. A special post such as this deserves a slightly different type of "comment" to say thanks and keep you inspired. Broadway missed their chance.

Very interesting and beautiful pictures

I really enjoyed listening to your soft voice. I hope to hear more from you

A solid performance, thanks for sharing and tackling this tough cover song

I have included you in my Week 119 Open Mic Judge's Post
Please read the full review here
https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/4lmqyb-steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-118-original-blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.037
BTC 67725.65
ETH 3524.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78