How to Deal with Online Trolls

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends,

As the saying goes… when it rains it pours. One of the great things about being a content creator is the connections you build with people. Reaching more and more people also means attracting more trolls too though. Probably 98% of the comments I get on my various social media channels are positive in nature and conversational – but randomly yesterday I got multiple trolling comments at once!

Comments like this can shake you up, make you angry and kind of ruin your day. It’s sooo tempting to write them a snarky comment back to show them how much of a jerk they are. In this video I share my thoughts with how to deal with online trolls.

Main Questions/Thoughts Covered in this Vlog


  • Is it best to just ignore these remarks or respond?

  • Why do people leave comments like this?

  • Isn’t responding good so the troll understands the impact of their words and see the other side?

  • Why are trolling comments so triggering? (hint) They make comments with a seed of truth and they try to prey on your insecurities.

  • Can letting them know they are being a jerk and their comments are hurtful ever have a positive impact in changing their viewpoint?

  • Isn’t it good for content creators to get feedback? If the comments are all sunshine and roses… how can they improve?

Most Tweetable Moment in the Video


Feel free to find me on Twitter and re-tweet this quote from my vlog today.

https://twitter.com/@girlgone_crypto

People that are kicking ass in their own life, don’t take the time to stop and tear people down.

Those that are kicking ass in their own life dont take the time to stop and tear others down..PNG

I hope you guys enjoyed this video and I look forward to chatting with you below! What do you think… is it better to ignore these comments, or respond?

XO, Lea


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

Oi, GirlBoss! You think you're soooooooo good..... but you're actually great.

Dammit, okay, let's try that again....

Hey CryptoGirl! You've probably been wrong about some tiny detail while being right about thousands of good points and really quite inspiring to others including myself. Why should we even listen to you?!

Grrrr, okay, one last try.

Hey Lea, you looked supercool in this vid.

Dagnammit! My troll game is so weak. Ugh. I might need to jump back into traditional social media to fix this...

Your comment made my day ... by like 1000%. Hahahah and your trolling skills need some work! 😂

great post but this does not work on beanie sanders whatsoever
have a great day and enjoyed this post
what you say works on most people but beanie sanders is a special headcase lol
be well and be safe and dont let the trolls bother you since they are a waste of skin and breath
cheers

Hello there jobby friend!

I read the YouTube comment and its outright comical. Who trolls someone for trying to spread acts of kindness lol!

Everything you said is on point. I see so many people spending time responding to trolls instead their supporters which doesn’t really make sense, which is exactly what you laid out perfectly here.

I’ve got the occasional random troll or person unhappy with the projects i support. I have the luxury of not being CS so I don’t really need to respond to them.

I don’t have time or energy to waste time on trolls so I never write back (as hard as that is ) and that is a pretty effective strategy.

It’s super hard to not say anything but it helps when you don’t have an ego and don’t care .

I just want to say that anyone who has spent time looking over your very large, eclectic portfolio of content and thinks you are somehow bad for steem is quite misinformed and has no idea what quality consistent really means.

Its going to be really funny in a couple years (or less!) when you are the most famous person from this platform.

Can’t wait to be a special guest to talk about it on SSS episode 500 :)

Troll anxiety level: HIGH

Hahah YES!!! We’ll fly to Cali to visit you for episode 500 and film together!!

Thanks for the kind words my friend! 🥰

Not sure if my English is rusty, but I think it might be "another's" down or maybe others or others'. Assume I'm wrong, but if people are spreading that message, I think it might be grammatically incorrect.

Uh oh... grammar has never been my strong point. 😅

I enjoyed the chat about dealing with trolls @coruscate! Don't give them a lick of your attention. They don't deserve it.

Followed & Up-voted. #HighFive!

Thanks Wil! Sometimes leaving them alone is easier said than done... but worth it. 😅

I grew up in the age where we were taught ... "If you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all."

There are pro's and con's to this philosophy, but there will be no trolling.

I grew up the same way! Haha like you said - there are pros and cons, but generally speaking I think that asking if something will be beneficial or not is a good way to go. 🤷‍♀️

that is actually a cool thing about steem, that you can somehow guestimate the truthfulness of a comment by looking at repuation. Actually every comments below 50 are not worth spending time on. On youtube actually everybody can hide behind a certain generic name.

I love how you look.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great way to approach it as it is tough out here in Internet land. It is amazing what people do for entertainment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28