My Thoughts from the Global Blockbuilders Conference In Austin

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

The conference is officially wrapped and most people have started to fly home. There are a few stragglers left in the city that we'll be meeting up with tonight and then Mary and I have a few days to enjoy the city! In case you think I look slightly exhausted in this video... you would be accurate. I'm definitely hitting a bit of a post-event crash.

Is using my photo with Ned as the thumbnail slightly click-baitey? Maybe... Honestly though it was great to finally meet him since we didn't have a chance to chat in Poland. I had the @steembirds song "What do I say to Ned" running through my head the whole time ... which totally made me crack up.

In this vlog I chat about some of my biggest takeaways from the conference including some cool people I met, talks that inspired me, how fun it was to share a big house with a bunch of steemians, and what a great city Austin is.

Sorry I haven't done a better job of keeping you guys updated during the conference - but I'm always amazed at how fast the time flies! I hope you guys enjoy this vlog and hearing a bit more about how the conference went.

XO, Lea


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for the constant invitations to the house! It was super cool to have a place to chill and chat... my voice definitely doesn't carry over a noisy bar, so even though I wasn't staying at it, the steemhouse absolutely made my trip that much more valuable.

I came away from the conference feeling very inspired, a lot more knowledgeable and a little bit dumb... so many incredibly smart people there, especially the super smart hacker guy (who was getting paid by other hackers to not hack because he was so good at hacking) ... but I'm still very much a newbie in the space and getting less dumb by the day. Thanks for all the funs!

Did you get @rustle?

Posted using Partiko Android

This comment scared me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh... you mean Captain Rad?

20190414_105215.png

This one made me feel better.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, that's what I'm here for!

I didn't get you on my list, but I'm fixing that now. Hopefully there aren't too many more I missed.

Ah, is that why you were asking people what their steem accounts are? I thought you were just trying to put a name to the faces. Did you get stevescoins?

5 SBI bonus units for everyone I am able to identify as being there, plus 5% bonus on all enrollments in their next thirty days, to be applied at the end of that time.

I did get @stevescoins.

Oh dude, that's super super generous of you. Thanks!!

I announced in my talk that everybody missed.... ;)

Planning to put together a fresh video of my slides (which I didn't use at the conference because no HDMI port) and upload soon.

Thanks Joseph! That was a super cool bonus for you to offer conference attendees!

That hacker guy was insane... oh man I still can't believe his story! I totally felt the same way this trip too... a lot of things over my head, but it was awesome to be exposed to so many cool things happening in the space.

Thank you for this and I look forward to more. Not being at the events you give a great example of what it would be like and the information we would pull from it. Perhaps soon I will go to one :)

You should if you can! I know it gets expensive/time consuming to go to events - but it's totally worth it in my opinion. :)

I had no clue Ned was there. Not sure how I missed him lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I never saw him either. Maybe he popped in for a photo op with Lea and then ducked out again?

haha yeah I think he was only there for a few minutes on Thursday.

haha aww yeah not having kids helps the whole "take off and travel to events" thing. 😜

Super glad you had a great time lea. Thanks for coming

Posted using Partiko Android

You know you can always count on me! ;)

Felt that it was shorter than I thought it would be but imagine that is because I have not seen all the discussions that occurred there. Look forward to reading more about them!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The conference was only two days...so it was pretty short. Both days were pretty packed with speakers - but yeah it went by quickly!

Nice shot with @Ned.
Will listen much later to your share

Hey @coruscate, this is an amazing post with a lot of

  • inspiration
  • motivation and
  • creativity in it!

You have been curated by the @ddaily curation team and we are grateful that you shared your work with us.

If you want to know more about the @ddaily family - then please check out our channel and
do not hesitate to connect with us via discord. You can find the link at the botton of every post of us!

THE POWER IS IN THE PEOPLE!

image.png

Thanks guys!!

Great. Must have really been a great time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71