Before and After // Testing Out New Gear to Improve My Video Content

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

When it come to my video content - I'm generally pretty happy with the quality from my regular vlogs and music videos, BUT sometimes I use my Macbook Pro to actually film content. This happens either when I'm interviewing someone, or if I'm doing a screenshare recording - I use the camera that came in my laptop and the micrphone from a pair of headphones.

I feel the audio/video is always sub par on these items - and so I decided to upgrade both the mic and the camera! In this video, you see me test out 4 different scenarios.

  • First clip is with my old setup - just using what comes on the Macbook Pro.
  • Second clip is still using that camera - but hooking up Apogee Mic to my laptop.
  • Third clip is using my Logitech webcam for both the video and mic. (it claims to have a built in mic)
  • The final clip has me using the webcam AND the apogee mic in combination.

It was so fun to test out all these different variables to see what will yield the best results. I was pretty surprised at what a difference a few pieces of gear could make! I spent a total of $70 for this upgrade. Fifty on the webcam, and twenty on a cable to connect my mic to my laptop.

I hope some of you guys find this video helpful if you are debating upgrading some of your gear as well! I am personally way more excited about the prospect of doing more screenshare videos and/or interviews now that I have a better setup!

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

austinconference.png


More of my Steemy Adventures


Watch the Latest Steem Sister Show Episode
The Steem Monster Show with @littlescribe and @coruscate
Watch My Talk at the Steem Creators Conference
Join the Steem Onboarding Fundition Campaign!
Learn More About Mene 24k Gold Investment Jewelry

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Teach me how to be an orca, too

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Nice top #greek keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

The last one is definitely the best quality, at least from my mobile devices. The others sound a little more acoustic. Great to see you looking to improve the content!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great video :)
What gear do you use? Especially, what mic and cam?

The mic is a million times better but the camera, eh, it doens't add much. I feel that most of the time anyway, audio I feel is way more important than video, with good lighting I think a webcam from a quality notebook is sufficient. The only reason to upgrade video is the option to place it other places or if you went all out on a DSLR to give your videos the cinematic feel.

Woww, este video esta genial!

I've been considering upgrading my video and sound setup as well so that I can produce some better-quality music and potentially give vlogging a try...though the thought of vlogging still makes me super uncomfortable. Haha. Probably a good reason to just jump in a try it out.

Thanks for sharing this! Definitely helpful to know what kind of equipment you use to make your awesome videos!

@coruscate I've tried to use my external mic as well and combine it with my laptop + laptop webcam, if I want to share my screen for a video, I do have the same problems as you mentioned that the voice does not match 100% with the video (me talking) which is a bit frustrating because the mic from my laptop is pretty bad!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75