You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Friends Overrated???

in #dtube5 years ago

I've been blessed to have long term friends in real life, and online friends who've become real friends and more . . . most notably my husband, who is my best friend, whom I met online 12.5 years ago, and we've been together ever since.

I have one close friend I've known since I was six years old, and even though we live most of a continent apart, when we talk or (more rarely) get together, it's as though no time has passed . . . we just pick up where we left off.

Ditto with my meditation group in Florida; we've all known one another for well over twenty years, and even though I haven't seen them in person in several years, I know for a fact that I could call any one of them with a problem and they'd be there for me, as they know I'd be there for them.

Yes, times have changed, and our society is both more mobile and more transient than ever before. But that doesn't make friendship any less important; it is simply something we need to make time for in our lives.

And yes, online friends can become real friends, whether or not we are actually able to meet in person, though obviously the relationships benefit hugely if we can.

Kids will always take a lot of time, but that's the nature of things, and that time will become less and less difficult to manage as they get older and go out on their own.

Having said all that, I do believe that a higher percentage of people are lonely today than in years past, at least in part because so many choose to communicate only electronically.

This not only limits human interaction, but eliminates real eye contact and the nuance of body language, much less hugs, and much of what can make life most enjoyable.

I'm very sorry about the loss of your friend last summer. That's never easy, and it leaves a hole in our lives that can be hard to fill. I've been there, more than once, and I do understand.

My advice is to make time to see the friends you have left, or at least to call them on a more frequent basis, as not only can you rekindle your friendship, but it may lead to you meeting more kindred souls in the long run, which is always a good thing. ;-)

Good luck and be blessed!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I totally appreciate your awesome comment! It is so neat to hear someone that has met a spouse online and it has even worked out over time!!! How cool is that!

I think you give some wise counsel in your thoughts. Many thanks for sharing with us!!

You're welcome! Have a wonderful day. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87