I Am On Lactose-Free Diet Now

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hello steemians, my fellow d.tubers, I had a lot of restrictions in my diet and one of those is lactose and I had proven that I have no enzyme in my digestive system like lactase to breakdown lactose which is found in dairy products which causes my guts to revolution and makes me pass gas like a geyser not to mention diarrhea that ensues after.

I had this problem for many years and it didn't occur to me that I had that condition because of lack of awareness and knowledge about that health issue. I just thought that it was normal so I just endured it all these years.

Now I know that to enjoy dairy products like cheese and milk I have to take a Lactase pill which is an enzyme that will make my digestive system break Lactose in dairy products into a usable form. It will then not allow the bacteria in the gut to get a hold on lactose which causes them to make gas by fermenting the lactose.


Source

It is better for me to avoid dairy products though because they contain much phosphorus that can make my hyperparathyroid worse. I also have to avoid lots of processed foods like powdered drinks, and almost all processed and packages foodstuffs in the markets because of their phosphate stabilizers.

So if I would like to eat such foods I do have to take a lot of phosphate binder like "Renvela" which is not cheap by the way but I needed it along with my Cinacalcet, Cacium tablet, and of course vitamin C. It just sucks that I do have a limited amount of foods that I can take plus restrictions with them just to maintain my health out with its current condition because if I am not careful things will get uglier.

That is all for now my dear friends, bye.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi @cryptopie! I can appreciate where you are coming from. It took me 10 years to figure out what was causing the same issues you are having with lactose! It was pure misery! I have found a wonderful product here in the US called Ripple. It is a vegan protein substitute for dairy and is very good. It is the only thing I use to make any hot beverage with. It is available in original or vanilla unsweetened. It's in a 48 ounce bottle and sells here for $4.99 per bottle. There is a brand of dairy free cheese called Daiya which is excellent. I'm not sure you would have them there, but maybe have someone look for them. If you would like, let me know and I can send all the information I have on the companies to you. Take care and God bless.

Sounds great @elizaabethbit
I actually had found a lactose-free milk which costs 3 dollars per liter, I was contemplating on buying it.
While cheeses here in my country are processed and contains added phosphates too :/
It is because we are not cheese producing country and solely relies on cheese imports and processing.

That's great @cryptopie! I'm glad you have something. I didn't like coconut milk or any of the almond milk and such for hot coffee. That's why I was so happy to find the Ripple because it not only tastes good, but also froths up well for espresso. Your entire digestive system will thank you! :)

I would advice that you stop taking any meal and foods products that contain lactose since you body enzyme cannot breakdown these lactose into lactase . Avoid lactose so that you can enjoy a healthy body system @ceyptopie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62