Embedding Youtube videos vs Dtube

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Why is it so easy to embed youtube videos on Steemit like this

But completely impossible to do the same for DTube videos?
https://d.tube/v/davidhay/hv0apgwd

I want to promote and use dtube but...
If someone visits my steemit page from youtube and wants to see a video the last thing they want is to be re-directed to the dtube webite to watch. If dtube could embed videos directly in steemit post like Youtube I think a lot more people would use it.

Sort:  

I agree with you. YouTube just works straight forward in the Steemit portal page.
From what I can see, the main problem comes from the fact that DTube does not have any embeding tool as the one that YouTube has.
If there was one, it would be very easy to just add it to https://github.com/steemit/condenser , as a JSX element like the YouTube one.
But first there is a need to create an embeding tool for DTube. I will try to take a look at the DTube code at GitHub latter, and see if there is anything I can do.

It really shouldn't be that hard, some simple javascript could easily generate an embed link, maybe its on the roadmap, bearing in mind DTube/Steemit are in their infancy

#patienceisavirtue

I'd imagine there is some code preventing the embedding on purpose, so you have to visit d-tube directly, rather than view through an iframe, thereby incrseasing site traffic stats and could also have implications/difficulties paying users via iframes and all their cross domain security issues

It seems to be such a simple feature that would make both sites so much more usable.

I understand the projects in beta. Shout out to all the hard working devs!

Hmm, ok, my apologies, looking at the source code, it seems to only currently support embedding YouTube and Vimeo. It's open source, so i guess someone could fork the source and add more supported platforms, then submit the changes..

Screenshot_20180219-222946.jpg

Line 140-170 https://github.com/steemit/condenser/blob/master/src/app/components/cards/MarkdownViewer.jsx

Kinda strange to specify vimeo in the else statement, if they hadn't it would arguably embed anything you like, be that vimeo, d- tube or whatever?? As it just creates an iframe..

#confused :/

I took the liberty of making the code change to allow for D-Tube embedding, I have submitted the changes for approval, if all goes to plan, you should be able to embed D-Tube videos shortly...

https://github.com/WeeNeilster/condenser/pull/1/commits

It gets embedded on busy.org, so I don't see why Steemit can't make it happen too. Here's your video embedded on busy.

Checked out the link, this is perfect. If steemit could embed dtube videos this easily I know a lot of people will switch over.

would there be any eay to suggest changes on Utopian.io ? I’m thinking this is possible.
Good point David! I will find out.
Thanks for your informative videos!

I'm not sure what that is.

Utopian.io I believe is the site that runs on the Steem blockchain for open source contributors. There you may suggest changes or contribute, I'm not computer savvy but it wouldn't hurt to ask around or maybe we can come across someone that can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62