Why I'm Embracing Steemit and DTube, and Why Google is a Lost Cause For Creators!

in #dtube6 years ago


After 6 years of producing content and building brands on Google's platforms YouTube and Google+, I've learned first hand just how worthless traditional social media platforms are for creators. In light of platforms like Steemit and DTube, its easy to see how far behind with the times Google truly is. Google has failed to innovate in so many ways, and they've failed creators as well. Other social platforms like Facebook are even worse, as Facebook never shares a dime with creators at all.

Google's long outdated and hardly innovate forms of monetization for creators is the whole reason why we need platforms like Steemit and DTube to take their place.

Its not that Google's platforms aren't a great place to build an audience either, they definitely are, but they're a terrible bet for those who hope to actually be rewarded for the work they do on the web.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow you have so many communities on google+!!! geez and you guys have to manage and moderate so many posts! And I thought the little bit of stuff I have to keep up with is a lot the hats go off to you buddy. And love reading your stuff and watching videos like this this really gives me inspiration and will to keep pushing forward with my own dream to grow online too!

Also that is terrible that you got into an argument over this recently do they not understand how much hard work, time and effort you put into what you do online? the connections you have built over time, the communities everything you guys have crawled your way up to making? And despite the hardships I can see you do genuinely find joy in what you do I see no reason to ever stop if you truly enjoy it and that is the path you wanna walk. Don`t ever give up man!

OMG! I found a community back in December I didn't even know I had, lol. While Google totally let us down, I have to say its been an exciting journey I took building all this stuff on the web. I do love this stuff, and that's why I'm not letting it go, but rather fighting it out to try and find ways to make it work without the reliance on Google.

No doubt, our relationship with Google has really soured in recent times too. I'm glad I do not look at Google as a business partner anymore, but rather a set of platforms I can take advantage of while ensuring Google gets nothing in return. There's no question about it, I am definitely not Google's friend.

And, you're definitely right Naglfar, it doesn't appear Google puts any value in the ridiculous amount of work I've done to support their Google+ platform. There's no question I helped them grow that platform over the years, and yet I've never really benefited from it.

Meanwhile, Google did everything they could to try and make me feel important so I would continue to support their platform. Larry Page reached out to me in early 2013, and Google actively used my communities and content as a poster boy for their platform, all the while giving me nothing in return. They're a shameful company indeed, and their mistreatment of so many has finally come back to haunt them.

Yeah it is an exciting journey indeed I have a much smaller following than you overall but I have to say the bit of progress I did make on youtubee and the small audiencee I managed to grow over years brings a smile to my face heh hard work and time does pay off indeed it seems. And I`ll keep going!

Also feel like posting in Gamers Bay has been helping me get some more exposed! I am glad to be part of the community heh once I become less shy there I`ll try and post way, way more gaming discussions etc. haha I am a very shy person so it takes me a bit sometimes to really come out. But overall I am really loving it! I am already thinking about what else I could likely post there.

Ah, don't be afraid of Google+, very cool, calm, and collect people there. We rarely have any drama. YouTube is a tougher platform I think, there is a lot of drama there, I just stay away from it. Me and you both have managed to build pretty good followings on YouTube that don't bring drama to our content, a good thing!

Me gustó tu video, si quieres puedes pasar por el canal, ya me suscribí al tuyo.
d.tube/#!/v/abrahampe3/w3eld53k

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69095.98
ETH 3678.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48