DTube | Are you diversifying?

in #dtube6 years ago


Have you been diversifying your crypto investment? Are you buying altcoins?

I am a Steem LOVER, no doubts about that, but I think that putting all my money in the same invesement means higher risk.
So... lately I have been buying a couple of altcoins with my SBD. (just a small % of my portfolio)

I still buy mostly STEEM with my SBD, and I do it in Bittrex because I think it is good for Steem, rising Steem volume on the exchanges is great for it, in my noob opinion.

Have you guys been diversifying? Are you going 100% Steem? What altcoins do you like?

Thanks for watching! And please comment and tell me what are you diversifying into (if you are)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

75% steem and 25% Dash. although the investment was equal in the beginning.

Why these specifically? Why not gamble on the crypto market as a whole and put some in the "big boys" like BTC and ETH?

Personally i have around 50% of mine in these established coins and apart from that i am just shopping around a bit and doing some research.

BTC and ETH are having scaling problems. Yes, they are known, but how long will people be willing to hold a coin that can't even do a transaction? (Or pay huge amounts to make a transaction).

I don't think I need to justify holding steem. No transaction fees, instant transactions, real usecase with many websites, launch of Smart Media Tokens in early 2018 (which will probably change the internet in the coming years), and I earn interest for holding steem power. I think it's by far the best investment longterm in the crypto market.

I like dash as well because it solved one by one all the problems bitcoin had. No privacy? solved with private send. Transactions take too long? solved with instant send. Transaction fees? solved. it's now around 10-20 cents at worse.
Can't scale? solved, masternode system + designing of specific hardware currently being worked on. Stupid forks coming out of nowhere? Solved again with the best possible governance system. Masternode just vote on decisions, which can be made in a 24-hour instead of a year long debate about segwit or block size increase. By the way this governance system also solves the conflict of power in the organization (like we have seen between bitcoin core developers and bitcoin miners): Dash is decentralized autonomous organization, it runs itself with masternode votes.

Oh I almost forgot. Biggest problem in crypto? Developers are not paid for improving and designing cryptocurrencies, and they often have to work some other job at the same time to have an income. They either rely on donations or on the increase of the coin's value if they bought some early on. Solved again. Dash has a self funding mechanism. 10% of the inflation goes into paying developers and funding projects. Projects are again voted on by masternode owners in a democratized fashion. This self funding mechanism is what allows Dash to have one of the best working teams, developing team, and marketing strategy.

The release of Dash evolution in 2018 will be revolutionary.

Thank you for the thorough answer. I agree and see the problems with both BTC and ETH, but i don't know that they won't be fixed. I think pretty much everyone agree that something needs to happen. But i also think writing them off is a bit premature. Additionally i also think that if end, they will not end with a bang but fizzle out. BTC, because it is the trade coin, and i think lightning will reduce network pressure enough to keep it in that place, ETH is the basis for so many other coins, which i think will keep it going for long.

Thus i think it is reasonable to hold them and bet that they will increase. In my eyes they are the "safe" crypto bet, which is why i like them for portfolio diversification. I think that betting it all on two specific coins like this is a bit risky. At least for me.

I really like the idea of steem even though i don't fully understand it yet. I am still reading up on it.

As for Dash i have a hard time evaluating its merits compared to other "privacy coin" however, the few of their promo videos seem a bit dishonest to me. Then again i don't really understand the premise yet apart from the privacy part. The democratization stuff does sound interesting though.

I have yet to make any serious decision on what coins to back as it is quite the task to evaluate each of them, and just a hobby.

Well played mate! Never put all your eggs in the same basket! I wish I had more sbd to invest in other cryptos too...but I'm not performing that well here lately...I really don't know why...some of your support will be highly appreciated :) greetings from Spain my friend! :)

Thanks for watching and commenting!

Y a no perder la motivación, que de a poco las cosas se van dando.

Saludos desde Uruguay, que tengas un excelente fin de año!

Olé @dontstopmenow ! Muchas gracias por tus ánimos amigo! Ya te sigo! :)

Doing a bit of research about XVG, no one talks much about it, but its potential is huge, it will boom up soon,
For those that don’t know Verge is a scrypt based alternative crypto currency trying to take the popularity of both Dogecoin and Bitcoin and combine it with the anonymous features of DASH. The block time is 30 seconds and the coin operates through Proof of Work.

I'm so glad a friend of mine suggested I buy 10K of these a while back! Just sold a 1000, keeping the other 9k - I say go for it!

Nice!

Verge is one of the few alts I recently bought. I also think its potential is huge so... lets see how it goes.

Good luck with your investments!

Thanks for watching and commenting!

Really interesting...I think it was highly pumped these days by McAffee though...

Good advice. I have Silver, Stocks, British Pounds, Ethereum, Litecoin and BAT tokens. I'm also planning to get active on Steemit for 2018. Keep stacking guys.

Nice holdings! Can´t go wrong when you diversify like that.

Good luck @ygriffiny !!

Thou shalt have no other crypto before Steem... ;)
giphy.gif

thealliancereko

@reko I like that thinking too and so does @jerrybanfield. If you look at what's ahead for STEEM in the New Year then you will understand............................

completely agree

indeed:)

nice work hopefully we make same you for one post

I think I'll stay with Steem, capitalization of the top 10 cryptocurrencies seems ridiculous to me and Steem has a lot of room to grow to catch up with them.

I couldn´t agree more, Steem is in my opinion extremelly undervalued at the moment. That is why I am buying mostly Steem with my SBD.

a good post I will start to follow

a good post I will start to follow

Which alts have you been buying? And have you received a good return on them?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86