Modular Soundtrack Improv: "Marantz Party"

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


This week, I added a Marantz PMD-430 field recording cassette deck and a few handmade infinite tape loops courtesy of Moonbeam Tapes on Etsy (https://www.etsy.com/shop/MoonbeanTapes?ref=simple-shop-header-name&listing_id=662151060). This gives me a few different length loops to experiment with, and the Marantz offers (to my ear) about four steps in each direction with its varispeed to improvise melodicallty with. I set about feeding it a warbly modulated note from both outputs my e352 oscillator, recorded about 5 seconds of it, and promptly patched it back into the rig through the erbe-verb.

Screen Shot 2019-06-08 at 8.26.38 PM.png

What you hear at the top is actually the infinitely sustaining verb after I paused the Marantz to start the take. Although I fully recognize this is basically nine minutes of tape warble, for its debut I though I'd over-indulge. Once things get going, I feed the tape loop back in and turn the varispeed up and down to hit different major and minor intervals, effectively creating and infinitely sustaining pad. I look forward to refining my technique on this going forward.

All credit due to Hainbach, one of my favorite instagram and youtube electronic innovators. I knew I wanted to do something with tape loops, but a deep dive on his channel really helped me nail the gear the first time. Check out the video that helped me not buy some garbage here:

Elsewhere in the patch I do a bunch of my favorite tricks. Plonk is doing the banjo-esque melody and both it and the countermelody that comes in later in the patch are receiving modulation to their release times from the Voltage Block, which is finally back in the fold after a long absense. Long live release time modulation.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh man awesome! This brings back memories of hacking cassettes in the 80s!

That is great operator!, thanks for sharing with us!

Thank yah kindly!

So nice sound to hear it. It is really difficult to manage so many button and keys to play a good sound . Hard work . But i love to hear it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you drumoperator! You've just received an upvote of 42% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Wow great sound and atmosphere - I used to have one of those Marantz beauties - brilliantly made bit of kit! Could be interesting to master a digital track to the Marantz and then re-record to digital for distribution! 1980's time-warp mastering!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71