Introducing MODULAR ACROSS AMERICA! Ep. 01: Greensboro NC

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Greetings, salutations and an enthusiastic welcome to my new series MODULAR ACROSS AMERICA. For the next three weeks, I'll be on tour across America. What better way to document my journey than by composing and documenting a self contained patch for each location, informed by whatever environment I'm shooting in. To accomplish this, I spent the last two days before tour gutting the unnecessarily nice case my SE Electronics overheads came in and installing rack rails for a travel modular system. Despite a severe lack of woodworking skills, I'm pretty happy with how it came out.

As far as this video specifically goes, it was shot adjacent to a huge solar power field that I hope would make more of an appearance in the shot, but the super sweet bokeh on my GX85 comes at a price and said solar panels are a bit difficult to make out. Regardless, it was a pretty spectacularly North Carolina-y environment to shoot in, and I think my simple patch sounds pretty damn appropriate for scoring a giant array of fancy technology out in the middle of woodland nowhere. I'm using the Malekko Varigate 8 and Voltage Block as the only source of sequencing and getting some good work done with Plaits for the plucks and my always-on-the-ready Mangrove for the low drone. I'm getting a third melodic element for free by sending another sequence to the pitch shifting control on the Clouds, which is creating much of the ominous "Solar Panelesque" pitch warble. At the very least, it sounds solar panelesque to me.

Next stop Baltimore. Something tells me blissed out ambient will -not- be the flavor of the day, but we shall see!

DQmW2hkp3oLwMM3G7i6rjUhMbduAW23QzfpwCAos3m3cfAR.jpeg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

appreciator payout in the amount of $49 USD.
rocky1 payout in the amount of $44 USD.
therising payout in the amount of $43 USD.
postpromoter payout in the amount of $37 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value in the amount of $173 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @drumoperator and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Thank you for this extremely valuable service. Extra points for upvoting your bot to the top of the comments and not upvoting the post.

Thank you for your feedback.

Although I'm sure you realize this, the upvote was in direct response to your downvote, which you have since removed. The mission of this bot is simple transparency, if you downvote the comement, then it will be made visible again by the community.

Music is love, love is music, music is life, and I love my life.
Keep steemit.

This is amazing dude!!

Thank you friend!

AMAZING

PERFECT! You shoould add some panning to these sounds it will make crazy dope stereo effect

An excellent idea as my MIIIIX mixer actually allows cv control of the panning. Clouds also does wonders for stereoizing a source, perhaps I’ll kick that up a notch next time.

Sound tasty like an apple pie. It doesn't happen that I would like to eat a sound but I would do with this. PLease send me this in powder so I can add some in my smoothies...

Rev 13:17
"so that no one could buy or sell unless he had the mark — the name of the beast or the number of its name. Here is a call for wisdom: Let the one who has insight calculate the eurorack patch of the beast, for it is the number of a man, and that number is six hundred sixty-six"

Screen Shot 2018-04-12 at 4.04.12 PM.png

coincidence ....? Maybe. I am holding my judgement right now because I really like your sound. Have a good tour bro.

All of my tracks are now available in supplement form. Thank you for this brilliant idea, and, as always, hail Satan. Or whatever.

Glad to see you back on here with another series. This was great and I'm looking forward to more. This makes NC seem pretty ominous and now I'm thinking synths need to be outdoors more. Any plans on your tour rolling through Seattle?

We hit Seattle every fall for pax! Thanks for the kind words, as always sir! Just shot the Baltimore episode inside the art gallery we are playing tonight. Can’t wait to get to the hotel and edit it!

I'll try and be there. It would be pretty cool to see you do your thing in person.

Nice :) I’m following you. Back?:)

time of tecnologies now ..great work with great ideas.and it is amaizing and high power

Nice ! I really like the idea of making ambient sounds inspired by the locations you travel to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71