The FETCH Initiative Charity drive at the Government Orphanage Home, Ikot Ekpene: Why we were all almost in tears (Pt1).

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


While at the Government orphanage home, Ikot Ekpene Akwa Ibom State for my first Charity visit for 2018 with the FETCH initiative, I was really emotional and so also was the team. Seeing the pictures we didn't expect to see, brought tears to our eyes.

Who wouldn't be?, after seeing those children living like they were not fit to take part in the goodies of society. Practically living away and differently from society; the pain in their eyes will gnaw at your heart.
snap(27).jpg
@alisonudeme was the first person to break down and I can only imagine how she felt after seeing those children most of whom are sick, deformed and living like... they don't matter?
IMG_20180203_110705_2[1].jpg
The orphanage is like a prison for little children and it is a shame to see these children subjected to such living status and treatment.
I stayed outside the whole time because I was sad and also visibly upset with the system that keeps getting worse.

I am sure we Steemians will do better if given the same chance as the government have.


I Feel Blessed!


We left the orphanage with heavy hearts as what we had experienced was just to much to hold.

Can you believe they have no fans, television nor music player to entertain them? Really unfair.
@Annieben had to play some music from her phone and the children, awesome children had awesome time dancing to the tune.
IMG_20180203_113647_7[1].jpg
It is moments like these that helps me see through the colors of the day and to appreciate how wonderfully blessed I am to be on this platform.


This is part 1 of the 2 part video we did with the team saying how they felt.


How would you feel???


Make the world a better place for someone today!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This blew me away... I got so emotional at this video. You guys are really interpreting the real essence of the steem blockchain. Lives are being touched and that is where our joy lies. Thanks @ejemai and the entire team for passing the good spirit.

some heart touching things around make us emotional and we feel tears in our eyes. Thanks for the #dtube video and this post.

True talk, when we open our eyes and really see the happenings around us, then we'll wish we never opened them..
As an extension agent i see many of such and the tears would never be enough, especially in rural communities like; https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@lonelyaya/steemit-changing-lives

We need to keep trying to help were we can, thats why we are the priviledged no need to cry.

You are really leading a generation of great men and women for the future of this country. God bless your good works.

Beautiful outing... God bless you all for the love you showed to them..
Am angry at myself I missed this... Would love to be part of the next one.. Keep up the good work sir.

You are doing well

Thanks sweet...

Have visited that orphanage once or twice with my association crew since it's close to my hometown UYO. Each time am there, i can't help but give way to tears. Am always reminded of how grateful i should be for freedom and family

Such is the scenery whenever one visits such places, you get to find out that there's a whole lot to do and you won't stop wishing you could do more. I have had that feeling before, so I know how it feels. But we can always take pride in the fact that we did our best. Great work you doing @ejemai with the fetch initiative, grace to do more and I also pray to one day be a part of it. Thanks for making the world a little better.

Great leader there. More blessing @ejemai. I like your desire to make an impact, keep up the good work @ejemai

this is a nice move @alisonudeme and others...am really inspired by your actions.

Just like the expeeience I had when I visited one here in Lagos on my birthday in January. These kids really need our help. I went back to give them books (chrildrens Rhapsody of Realities), praying for a miracle for some of them because they do not go to school. God bless you all for remembering and reaching out to them.

Thank you for sharing your own perspective of the visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78