Dtube Studio Tour (small NYC apartment)

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


It's HARD to make videos in a small NYC apartment, but where there's a will, there's a way!

Number one tip for shooting in a small space: get stuff off the floor

The shelves here were critical. They're ALGOT shelves from IKEA, and I put them up in every place I stay. Video requires a lot of random gear, so shelves and organizers are critical.


Wall-mount your lights

Light stands take up an incredible amount of space. I used to kind of scoot around them, but after a while I just couldn't take it. I got these Neewer wall mounts and thus far they have changed the game.


Reduce echo with whatever you can

A huge problem with shooting video in your apartment is reducing echo. You probably don't notice it day-to-day, but apartments have a lot of echo if you have hard surfaces like hardwood floor or tile, and you'll definitely notice when you're editing your video. I choose to be cheap and use a full-sized egg-crate style mattress pad. I literally glued it to the wall. I got it on Amazon for like $30, but that one isn't available anymore. Don't judge me.


Use multiple cameras

Obviously this takes some serious investment, but if you're able to use a separate camera for vlogging and studio shooting, you really should. It saves a ton of time setting up and breaking down equipment and gives you a more consistent look on your channel.


That's all for today, and thanks again to all my new subscribers. See you soon!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

All extremely clever, and yet very cost effective. It was awesome seeing everything you work with!

Haha can you tell I'm excited about these $12 wall mounts xD

Aaahhh shieett nicee dudee this is awesome studio

Thanks Edwin!

Nice equipment and awesome straightened up studio.
The Camlink is just awesome but unfortunally way too expensive. ~120€ here in germany for a small stick. Daim.
You use an microphone on your camera, right? Is it worth it? I am not sure if I should buy one. I just use the denoicer in adobe Premiere to get rid of the background sound

Cool Video and greetings from germany

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71