Let's plant some trees, shall we?

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Lately I've been thinking about what we can do as individuals to fight global warming, and besides changing the way we consume and think (and most importantly as a first step we should start giving a sh...t), there is one small thing that doesn't take much effort and is fun to do.

Why don't we all start planting some trees?

Sounds complicated? No it's not!

BTW, did you know that trees consume CO2 (carbon dioxide) and produce oxygen? The more trees we have, the cleaner our air. So let's start gifting saplings to people instead of flowers, and plant one in your garden, on your balcony or in a pot indoors.

Trees come in all sizes, and lemon trees are ideal because they can be kept very small if you need them to stay indoors. Plus, they happen to give you lemons....and who doesn't like lemons?

What do you think of this idea?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

eve signature.png

logo+join

Sort:  

You re welcome to join "2 million trees by 2020"
http://2mtrees.world

nice initiative, but they ask for donations which will stop a lot of people from joining in (me included). That's why a free tree grown at home or locally is ideal, no costs and you're still doing something good!

Awesome! I love the idea of giving trees instead of flowers! :) Btw, talking about planting trees - have you heard of this? I just found out and I am so excited about that - I will write a post about that soon. The Aussies rock!

oh this is amazing! At least one country following through with the Paris agreement! I hope more will follow....in India I think there's a similar project. I can't remember, it was a while ago

Lovely video. Great message. Quick thinking husband. I didn't know lemon trees can stay small. I may actually consider an indoor tree in my apartment here for a little green in here. Before my Dad died, he had salvaged a small pine tree in a pot that he'd water on the side of his house. Once he got too sick, the pot was knocked over and wasn't getting water, on its way to dying. While he didn't give me many good reasons to do this for him (from things you may or may not have yet seen me write about before), I decided to try to save the yellowing tree for the sake of not wasting life. It turns out that my fix helped the tree return to form, and it was growing again the last time I saw it. I haven't been back in a while to check up on it, but I'll ask my Mom how it's doing these days. It's been a harsher winter so who knows.

hey Matt, glad you saved the tree =) As you said it's for the tree, not for your dad hehe (I share the dad-sentiment from my own experience...)

But yes lemon trees are cool because they can totally be kept in an apartment and still give you nice lemons
how-to-grow-lemon-tree-in-pot-at-home.jpg

Great idea and info Eve. I really don't have space in my bedsit but I might get planting in the communal garden if there is any spare space among the veggies 😉

In my last proper job I used to lead groups of volunteers planting various tree plugs in the eco park that our project was a part of. It really is something that can help elevate environmental problems, that anyone can do.

Keep on fighting the good fight! Oh yeah... also... that poster of Bob Marley in the background gave me pure nostalgia cause I had one very similar when I was a teenager. Did you know I was born the same year that bob died. Lol, not so fun fact, except back in the day my mates said they thought maybe I was the reincarnation of Bob because of the amount of smoke-able plants I consumed then 😅

Thanks Rowan! yeah the communal garden works too! Or even a park (although you have less control over it getting destroyed by people in the park=). It's also a fun volunteer activity to do with kids!

ahahaah you saw Bob huh? I didn't realize he was showing in the back LOL

Great Idea which every one can do with ease and comitment. I have thinking about all the unutilised land every government has which can be used for reforestation. The idea is to have technology for fast growing trees which can be harvested in 6 years providing a base for timber production. This can provide local community with jobs for downstream products i.e furniture etc. An idea which hopefully takes root but needs support from the government to provide land for such projects.

yeah using gov. land is ideal for this...although if you are going to cut them off again to sell the wood then it will defy the purpose in my opinion s you want these trees to grow old... I personally like the idea of food forests or fruit trees better since they produce something edible that everyone could ultimately benefit from

I think you should do something with @cleanplanet, cleaning the planet and planting trees go hand in hand.

Good idea . It’s a pitty the people here in Japan don’t have much land and if they planted a tree in public they probably need permission lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

yeah when you plant in a public place it's a bit tricky...It's probably not an ideal solution for every location, but maybe it would still fit in an apartment =)

yeah I would love for @cleanplanet to be on board with this =)

True true , there are pots 😬
I’m sure you are gonna start something wonderful ( you already have ) . I’ll be looking out for the details and getting my pot n plant ready ( not that pot ✨)

Great initiative! Congrats!
I hope humans will start to have more respect for our planet in the coming years...

I hope so too ! We don’t have that much time left to react 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad to see that you're setting an example. My concern is the brow beating that we often get by individuals who want to advise us here in the US about pollution control. These individuals seem to ignore China, India and Mexico for example who are some of the top polluters in the world.

You got a 25.46% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @evecab! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 50 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88