Look who crossed our path this time! Saving 2 lucky Toucans

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


It seems like we can't go anywhere without finding some animal in need of help. Maybe that became our purpose in life. I definitely believe in Karma, and in our case it must be animal Karma if such a thing even exists =).

Check out how we were able to snatch these beautiful creatures from the hands of kid who were selling them illegally.

Fun facts about Toucans:

  • They can't fly well, and only cover very short distances. They mostly hop from branch to branch.
  • They eat frogs, lizards, insects and other birds' eggs and other small birds, in addition to fruit
  • They live up to 20 years

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Kick ass video and action by you both Eve. Well done!

I see how beautiful they are as animals, and sure it must be amazing to be up close to such wonderful and colourful birds. But I'd much rather see them from further away, even through binoculars etc in their natural environment. I don't understand these people who would keep such birds in cages. Tbh, i never understood birds as pets! Even as a child I saw instinctually that by its very nature, a bird shouldn't be caged.

Maybe no animal should be caged, full stop. But when you're 5 years old you want a pet/companion. I had a hamster for years, then we got a cat. But birds need to fly, simple as that. Their instinct is to fly. Even my hamsters got to walk about my room every day when I let them out, much to my mother's annoyance as it would leave little droppings everywhere lol

But my friend had a budgie, and when ever he let it out the poor thing just flew madly about before cowering in the corner of the ceiling. I distinctly remember being angry about it, even at such a young age.

Anyway, you and @el-cr are both kindred spirits. I would have done the same.... but probably would have got a beating or a machete swung at me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Rowan ! I totally agree that birds should never be pets .. i actually had a pet bird when I was about 10 and I blame my parents for not teaching me better! I used to let him fly around the kitchen and one day he escaped through the window ... I’m pretty sure he didn’t survive long as it was winter ..😐😫

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent message you give to us from your blog.

Helping small creatures is also good Habit because they have Equal rights to live with us.

Thanks for sharing your Experience with us.

Thanks you @omkardivivya 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I truly believe in Karma

Thanks you @nathanmars 😃 I want to believe in it too. If it does exist you are defo one of those people that will get plenty of good vibes right back at you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I do too bro, thank you for passing by.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wooow, what an action! I know I repeat myself in almost every post but you guys are just awesome! Thank you so much for the intervention, toucans are such wonderful creatures. I fell in love with them in a rescue center in Costa Rica where I took this shot. But we saw some wild living in the jungle too. Magnificent birds. Thanks again Eve and Carlos! :)

IMG_20170904_103642.jpg

WoW beautiful!!! This one looks different but I read there are like 40 different species! Such beauties! Incredible that nature made them this colorful!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah there are many toucan species :) Those two guys that you saved should be keel-billed toucans. One of the most beautiful species.

thanks to you bro for always supporting...

It was my first time to have toucans so close to me, and let me tell you, what an experience... the connection I felt was amazing!

Oh wow, another animal adventure for you guys. I'm glad you rescued them. I really want to see one in the wild. Guess I will have to leave Panama City more often!

Oh but you know I have never seen one in the wild! I either really suck at spotting them or they are hiding very well 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was in El Valle in March, and one of the women I was with saw one fly over where we were sitting. I was so annoyed I missed it. You can hear them in the trees but it's like they know you're looking for them so they so stop when you start looking around. Cheeky buggers!

Ahaha probably!!!! I’m really bad a spotting wildlife though so maybe I just didn’t look properly (or didn’t wear my glasses)

Posted using Partiko iOS

What you need to do is move to Zambia and help stop the mass poaching of Elephants. :)

Trust me I would love to!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The birds are beautiful. So sad that they are caught and sold to live in a cage. I really blame the people who are willing to buy these birds, knowing this is illegal. The kids, not so much, because like you said $200 is an amazing amount of money for their family. But people with $200 to spare to buy a bird should be using that money to help someone rather than take a trophy to put in a cage. I was amazed at how calm those birds were while riding in your car. They didn't seem like wild birds at all. I know if a bird accidentally gets into the garage, they go absolutely crazy when you try to help them out. It was almost as if those toucans were drugged. That would probably make them easier for the kids to handle and to sell them. Another shame if that was the case. And they had already clipped their wings? So there was no turning them loose in the wild again. Again, what a shame!

I agree with you. It really sucks there is people wanting to pay that amount of money for that type of "trophy" instead of doing something much better with it.

Birds were not drugged, 1 of them had a elastic band around his beak, the other one was more calm. I think some how they knew they were no longer in danger. The one that was between us, after we try to give him some food, he slowly and softy was touching @evecab's shoulder with his beak, like kind of saying "give me more".

Good news is that today I had a phone call with the Regional Director of the Environmental Department, the toucans are safe and they will keep them until their wings grow back so they can go back to the rain-forest.

Thank you so much for caring and expressing your thoughts.

Yes you are right! It’s not the kids fault it’s the people who are buying them and also the government for not enforcing the law better ... they weren’t drugged (they were pretty agitated when we put them in the car) but after bee drive a few minutes they calmed down

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a philanthropy 👍👏

if philanthropy refers to helping humans, what would be then the word to use for the help of animals in need?

Yes Inform me please 😊👍✌️👏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wonderful work.
Appreciate you efforts.

Free the tropical Birds ! 💙 ♬♬
Let the Kids Away from illegal trade-off
to Love Nature and Animals
especially encourage them what Steem♨World is !

thanks ! :) ♥♩♬♬

from DContest @dcontest link ! ♩♬

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10