Night-Time Blogging is Killing your Sleep!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


As part of my series on sleep, I decided to add some information in the video format through Dtube. Click on the picture above ^^ to watch.

First, it is essential to define a keyword:

Melatonin- A hormone, secreted by the brain, to induce rest and sleep like state. This hormone is also a potent antioxidant which helps scavenge free radicals that accumulate in the body and cause oxidative stress.

So, how does melatonin fit into sleep, and, can we manipulate this hormone?

This question is essential to our understanding of sleep, so, I suggest you watch the video above. I will also provide links for further reading below.

Ways to mitigate the Effect of Bluelight on our Sleep:


Computer monitors, mobile phones and t.v.'s all emit this energizing blue light. It is for this reason that Apple Inc integrated the 'nightshift' function to their mobile OS.

This setting turns all the blue, sleep-disrupting, light into Red light. The longer wavelength of the Red-light does not influence melatonin secretion.

Other applications which do the same job are:

f.lux compatible with Windows computers, Mac, Android, and IOS.

Twilight, a favorite for Android users.


Follow @exercisinghealth

Additional reading:

The Spectrum of light and their wavelengths

Melatonin, in detail

Effects of blue light on the circadian system and eye physiology


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice! This information comes very handy. I've been struggling with my sleep pattern for the past few weeks. Spending too much time in front of the screen... Just found the night shift function on my Macbook. Thank you!

I have had the same struggles in the past. Try keep the brightness of the screen at its lowest too. I remember listening to a podcast with a ‘sleep’ doc. He said that it is a combination of the type and intensity of light which disrupts our circadian rhythms.

I’m so glad you found the post useful!

Oh nooo @exercisinghealth! What am I going to do?? :D I like how you kept the video concise.

I know right... And it doesn't help that blogging on Steemit is so much fun ;)

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it.

Windows 10 also comes with a built in app for this! It's called night light and does exactly the same as f.lux 👍

I didn't know that. Thank you for sharing the info to our readers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56