Vlog 174: 2017: What an amazing year for the STEEM blockchain.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Anyone that attended Steemfest 1 was given 1900STEEM ($190 at the time) as a present for attending.

This was in November of 2016. A little over a year ago.

Everyone that kept that STEEM would now be sitting on $5000 worth of STEEM.

It's the best example of Return on Investment on STEEM that I can give.

It's just incredible.

But more interesting things happened to the Steem blockchain in 2017.

The Experiment


In the beginning of 2017, there was an experiment conducted by two whales to countervote other whale votes. Ultimately leading to more voting power to minnows. My upvote (with 15K Steempower) went from 1 cent to 8 cents.

That experiment made me invest more in STEEM here.

HF18, arbitrary reward splitting and the explosion of development.


Arbitrary reward splitting made it possible for developers to monetize the Steem blockchain by being able to reward themselves with an X percentage of your earning through using their application or front end. This happened 9 months ago.

I wrote about it here back then.

We saw an explosion of development.

Dtube, Dmania, Esteem, Dsound and many others benefit from this feature every day.

Dtube, for instance, gets 25% of the reward of this post. Which I think is perfectly fine for the service they provide and they can use it to make the platform even better.

The popularity of Blockchain shows that scaling is extremely important.


With the rise of crypto in 2017, it has become clear that not every blockchain is able to scale well.

Bitcoin saw a massive influx of transactions and can't handle the amount. Leading to a huge backlog of transactions and high fees.

The Steem blockchain has no problem with this. And is already doing more than 3 times the amount of Bitcoin transaction per day.

It's handling 1.1 million transactions a day with 0.10% load on the network.

SMT's (Smart Media Tokens)


The announcement of SMT's came sort of out of the blue and it took me a while to wrap my head around it.

Now I think it's one of the coolest things we can expect for 2018 for the Steem blockchain.

Tokenizing and therefore being able to reward content and communities in new ways will change the internet.

I recommend reading and listening to this post from @andrarchy if you want to understand more about it.

Happy New Year


2017 has been a crazy year full of awesome stuff that I can only see continuing in 2018.

I wish you all a happy new year!



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Happy new year! 2018 will be a great year. What a journey it has been with Steem. We both have seen a lot over the past year or so. This project has taught me so much. The things I have learned are worth more than any amount of money along the way. I see the world in a much different way after all I have learned since starting with Blockchains. I really believe the world is moving into a better place. In the words of the great Naveen Jain we all should "have a mindset of abundance". This blockchain can be a tool to change the world for good and teach people many things if used in the right way. Knowledge is power and It will be a blockchain full of knowledge. The Steem blockchain is getting stronger by the day. We have seen some amazing growth since this blockchain started and I know this is only the start. When we have a fully refined product it will be capable of doing things we cant even imagine yet. The addition of SMTs into the blockchain will be interesting and will change the way we think about the internet and what is possible. Communities and forums are a massive part of the internet. The possible applications of SMTs are amazing to think about. With Steemit and Steem we are already making changes in places that need it and giving help to those in need. Imagine what the future holds for us and this blockchain. We also have a great team behind this blockchain. That is one of the main reasons I invested my BTC into this project over a year ago after finding it on the Bitcointalk forum and stumbling onto Steemit through google search a few times (unintentionally searching for other things). I then began some research and saw @dan speaking a few times about Steem. Then saw @ned speaking on YouTube and on CheddarTV and knew in my gut then he was determined to make something great. Its great to see developers like you doing great things for the eco system as well @exyle with things like Steemify and Blockbrothers. Happy New Year again @exyle - Lets take Steemit and Steem to the next level in 2018!

Great video @thejohalfiles , i totally agree how fake rumors are being spread by our prime media channels...But no matter how hard they try to spread negativity around blockchain and crytocurrencies, it's going to turn out to be positive... Any publicity is good publicity.

@exyle you should watch this when you have a few minuets.

Thank you for that video. It was the first thing I watched this morning. Very positive message to start the new year! I would recommend anyone to watch that. Happy new year man!

If it bleeds it leads, most people spend their time living in negative vibes and wonder why their life isn't better, we are what comes out of us, comes out of our mouth and thought. Mindset of Abundance, think away your fear of failing and think big that it makes people feel you're crazy. Thanks for sharing.

That is so true.

Happy New Years @thejohalfiles! Thanks for sharing your insight and enthusiasm for the Steem blockchain, it is inspiring, to say the least. I've heard of Naveen Jain, but hadn't seen this Ted Talk, I just listened to it and it's truly one of the best I've heard! Bringing the mindset of abundance to Steem and the whole world is the key to making the future a better place! Here's to building a brighter future 🥂

That's really practical video, nowadays we are seeing the news of negativity, which in turn leading towards the indifferences between people, most of the people are separated from the resources and only few are the influential. We are moving towards the technological advancement, probably in some years AI (Artificial Technology) will take place to most extent, just think our body and we are created for to live organic way of life, but nowadays we are leading towards the over technological advancement. Thanks for the video.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

yup! i have the same sentiment. steem hugely underrated even at current prices. instant-ish transactions, no fees, actual very useful use case - it's the most value blockchain project at this point IMO.

Keeping an abundant mindset is the key to a fulfilling life, and I believe 2018 would be a memorable year, for the later is always greater than the former. Happy New Year!

wicked work @exyle @thejohalfiles steem to the moon !!!

This blockchain can be a tool to change the world for good

I've been in crypto for a while and know of many different blockchains, like many of us old timers but this is what entices me about Steem. The future where it's fully adopted and can be used as a tool to reward good actions worldwide. Currently humanity seems better at rewarding bad actions, blind greed is guiding many on the top and they are being worshipped like gods by many. I hope to see Steem change that.

We're lucky to have you for the ride as well, @johalflies. It's people like you and @exyle and many others that assures me that there are plenty of us that hope to use Steem for a greater good. Full Steem ahead!

@thejohalfiles I totally agree. Phenomenal things will happen when SMTs finally gets here. Btw thank you for sharing Ted tallk Naveen Jain...love it. Best wishes.

in 2018, steem just rise a lot now! 6x% in 24 hours!

Of course it has been an amazing year for steem. There is so much more to come. I can't wait!

Of. Course 2017 was an amazing year for all of us. I cant wait guys for what 2018 is bringing for us

Amazing to see how far Steem has come so fast. Here's to a great 2018!

Yesterday I reached Dolphin status with 5000SP - that was my target for my first 6 months on steemit.

Today I am writing a post about my targets and goals on steemit for 2018.

I've been thinking about my target for 2018. I have decided to go for 25K SP by the end of next year. That will be a mix of reward earning and direct investment.

I see steemit as an investment. I see steemit as an investment I enjoy being part of.

That is my key word - enjoy.

I enjoy steemit.

Congrats on the achievement!

Congratulations on your achievement! 5000SP is a great target to reach. With 25K you have set the bar high. Good luck with your investment in 2018! And yes, you are 100% correct when you say enjoy. I feel the same way.

Wow!.. that sounds impressive to a 1st week newbie. All the best on your journey! I'm still packing for the trip :D I find it great, but I'm overwhelmed by all the content. Any suggestions how to make it through the jungle?! I always find myself reading for hours instead of posting my stuff. Is there a 101 I haven't seen yet? :D

Thanks @roger.remix. To begin it is probably worth spending as much time commenting on posts as writing them.

The other big must-do is to network and make connections. Find Discord channels that suit your interests. If you haven't already check out the Steemit Music Alliance Discord :

Just listening to your tracks on DSound - I particularly like 50 Shades of DubStep.

Many thanks! - for the advice and the feedback. More to come! I smashed follow to stay updated. Happy new year btw!! #Steemit #ToTheMoon!!! 🚀

Nice post. Keep the good work on. 👍 Follow me @adnanmengal

Wow! I'm looking up to a day when i will celebrate such a great accomplishment too. A very big congrat to you.

Thanks - keep at it, you will get there

Thanks for your kind word. I don't doubt it at all.

@exyle,
Yeah STEEM is one of the highly scalable blockchain and with SMT, STEEM will change the crypto history! It's a coolest idea dev team brought in 2017!
BTC, ETH are just sh!ts when comparing to this amazing network! Hope people will understand the value of this network soon! Great article friend! Thanks for sharing with us!

Cheers~

happy new year brooo

With the launch of Smart Media Tokens, 2018 will be the year where Steem will have mass adoption and will grow by leaps and bounds. I am very bullish on Steem price, we have already seen dramatic rise of SBD's during 2017, which will follow the upward trend even in 2018. HAPPY NEW YEAR @exyle .

Nice post. Keep the good work on. 👍 Follow me @adnanmengal

Thanks for the update :) btw, I voted for blogbrothers on dtube, can you check if it went through?
I've been on steemit for a month, and I really want to grow on here. I can't wait for the day where my vote can actually help newcomers. So I hope I can reach 5000 so in 2018. It will be hard since I'm a student, but I hope it will work out.

Have a great New year man!

Thank you. Around 500SP you will get the vote slider. That's always a cool moment. Have a great new year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87