Vlog 181: STEEMBAY - Auctions on the STEEM blockchain + STEEM price emotions.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


I have written in the past that the more clear it becomes where a project is going the investment will be less risky but the potential for profit will also be less because you will have to pay more to get in.

Now that it's pretty clear the STEEM blockchain is maturing, not only in development but also in price, I find personanlly more difficult to recommend to anyone to buy it. (Even though I think it will go much higher). It was just easier when it was 15 cents.

I would however always recommend anyone new to crypto to join Steemit and start creating content to take their first steps in the fascinating world.

I do love thinking about the potential of this blockchain and do that every single day.

A lot of the development around the STEEM blockchain is not just coming from Steem inc. A lot of community members build amazing tools and frontends. Some are very well known like D.tube, busy.org, Esteem and Steemify ;)

But some are not. One of them is STEEMBAY.

I have been contacted by user @pollux.one if I could shed some light on that project.

STEEMBAY allows you to have auctions, just like eBay, on the STEEM Blockchain.



How does it work?

  1. If you want to sell an item or service on the Steem blockchain you make a post about the item you want to sell and include all the info you want to share about the item and include photo's and shipping details.

  2. You fill in #steembay as the first tag and the language of your choosing as second tag (english is standard, "fr" for french, "spanish" for spanish, "tk" for turkish or "deutsch" for German.

  3. After you post the steembay bot will comment on your post with instructions and you can start the auction!


Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 10.34.57.png


Take a look here for an example auction.


Example Auction: Steem Umbrella by user @demotruk.


What I like about this project is that it works. And yes, maybe it's still rough around the edges and there is room for improvement but it does work.

I do believe this project has a huge potential for the future and I will follow it with interest.

Thinking about selling something? Be a blockchain pioneer! Give it a try :)

I talk about it in my vlog from @2.37.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

THX a lot! This was as nicely explained as I would have been able to do it. Hopefully more will see the huge potential as well!

This community is amazing, we will continue to grow :)
Steem will be big in 2018!

I agree! 👍Great job

Afternoon!

Currently bidding for an umbrella but I think I'm going to let @osm0sis win and just use it anyway?!

It's a great idea and another string in the bow of the Steem Blockchain - well done to @demotruk and the guys involved!

Have a good day!

Ash

Cool that you are actively involved in this already! How did you find the experience?

It's working perfectly!

I like that it replies to your most recent bid so that you are alerted that someone else has made a higher bid.

I was thinking of auctioning a few things before moving again and am wondering if this would save the hassle of managing bids - I think it will!

thanks... love you blog and follow you.

Thanks for your post!
Please Follow, Upvote & Resteem my post to help us to travel & explore more
https://steemit.com/travel/@jonbee/travel-with-us-ep-01-kushtia-sugar-mills-kushtia-bangladesh-bd-steemian

If only the SBD was more stable Steembay would be a lot more useful.
I'm sure we would have a vibrant market place with a stable SBD.
Unfortunately because of the greed in the community we won't see SBD properly pegged any time soon.

Steem blockchain amazed everyday.
High price makes it harder to get investors in.
High price shows the strength of the blockchain.
Glad I did stay put.

i've tried it, it's pretty darn cool, you should totally consider working together and maybe have this as a panel in steemify? i realise it's only like a notifications app but hey you could have a section for auctions in there too or maybe another standalone app? :)

A standalone app (desktop + mobile) is considered / planned. Time/Ressources are the problem about it.
Thx for the positive feedback!

listen, i totally understand about the time thing! :)

It may be a great tool for an artist to sell their artworks using this platform. What do you say about it?

Another feather in cap for Steemit....Steem blockchain is really getting very interesting, with all these new application launching on it.. Wishing #steembay all the success!

The more of these we get the better adoption will become. I think as long as we keep getting more people to get themselves signed up, the bigger market there will be for developers. With the price of STEEM getting so high, people can make decent money just being active members, obviously not life changing money, but enough to make it worth your time to be involved in Steemit.

Yeah... Well said.@hms818

The development is just incredible indeed.

I'm new to all this, but I'm very excited to see where it's heading!

Woah! What a cool concept! It would be cool to have a different UI, though.

Hey @exyle what a great idea. I’m filming some stuff for Dtube here in Japan this week but I’ll have a look once I’m back in better Internet coverage. How’s the postage handled upon sale? Nice one!

I asked @pollux.one the same question! He said that once an auction ends the buyer and seller can contact each other on steemchat/discord and discuss this.

Also not to forget the possibility to send an encrypted memo, if you are not comfortable with the security on the chats. This will make your details only known to the buyer, noone else can see them. How to use encrypted memos

Very well thought out and executed (such is the norm with Steem). I didn't know about encrypted memos either so now I'm twice enlightened. Thanks again @exyle for sharing.

Mark, A very good alternative for Marktplaats :-), and nice to see they have a daily update. I like the new developments for the blockchain much.
Its good they asked you to bring it under attention; now it will be visible and known by so much more steemians !

I like to support all kinds of development on the blockchain because I think development is key to making this place grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55