Vlog 186: Basic account security you need to uphold + Why steempower is the best security.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


When you sign up to Steemit you are presented with this:

The first rule of Steemit is: Do not lose your password.
The second rule of Steemit is: Do not lose your password.
The third rule of Steemit is: We cannot recover your password.
The fourth rule: If you can remember the password, it's not secure.
The fifth rule: Use only randomly-generated passwords.
The sixth rule: Do not tell anyone your password.
The seventh rule: Always back up your password.

This is 100% true. The Steem blockchain is not like any other platform you are used to on the internet.

You can't press a button that says 'forgot your password? ' and expect that it will be mailed to you. (like any other website).

You are 100% responsible for your own actions here. The blockchain is decentralized. There is no third party to help you out.

Make sure you have your security in order straight from the start.

The best time to do it is when you just created your account. Your account won't have much value and in case you do make a mistake it's not the end of the world.

You don't want to learn about these things once your account is worth thousands. It's a lot scarier then I can tell you that from experience.

Don't ever log in with your master key (the one you got when you created your account).


There are 3 keys you need to know about. The posting key, the active key, and the master key.

You can log in with each of these keys.

With the posting key, you can only post, comment and upvote. (not transfer funds).

With the active key, you can post, comment, upvote, and transfer funds.

With the master key, you can change all the keys, including the master key.

There is not a single reason why under normal circumstances you want to log in with your Master key, so don't do it!


Always log in with your posting key. You can find it here. Only login with your active key if you intend to transfer funds.



Steempower is the best security.


In case your account is compromised (the active key was stolen). Steempower offers another security barrier. Because it takes a week to power down 1/13th of your STEEMPOWER to liquid STEEM (that can be transferred).

It gives you therefor a whole week to fix the situation and undo the hack.

This is where your master key comes in. And the only time you should use it.

With the master key, you can change all the other keys. Locking out any hacker and undo the power down.

I talk about it more in my vlog.

Starts @ 1.35



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I spilled coffee on my laptop in the summer, and once I got a new temporary laptop, I found out I had misspelled my million digit Steemit password on a piece of paper.

It was quite a joy to figure out which letter or number was the incorrect one.

It took me all night, but I was able to figure it out.

Dang. But you're a pro hacker then:)

I thought there was no problem since I knew I had the piece of paper. But my heart did skip a few beats when my eyes saw the red text that said "Incorrect Password".

"Oh. Shit."

"This is gonna take a while."

Haha I can imagine:)

Thats whats happening to me. Uh oh. So just push reset for a new one?

Damn dude. That's like a nightmare scenario :). Makes for a good story though.

Hah, yes. I now have it on my two external hard drives, on a piece of paper - correctly - as well as my mom's computer, just in case.

I trust my mom. :)

Du hast den Schatten offenbar geschnappt👍

This warning is very important, so you did the right thing by posting this reminder. There are a lot of newbies who don't know how important it is to be very prudent with your keys.

Yes...that's right.... Thank God for people like @exyle for always encouraging and counselling

@clio Your Son is why I LOVE STEEMIT. @exyle You have a GREAT MOM !

This is the first time I heard an explanation about all steem password so simple.
I thank you and I resteemed this post.
Keep on steemit

Wow thank you for the info man!
I learned something new today, I always login with my master key i think.
I'm going to change that now , Thanks for the info!

Make sure you backup your masterkey!

steemconnect is asking our master key when we transfer funds to @blocktrades is it ok?

This what it says.

This operation requires your active, owner key or master password.

Use your active key is what I would recommend.

I always use my master key to login or transfer funds...Thanks for such a useful information...i dont know about the difference in between these keys,,, Resteemed

Thanks for posting this, important for both new Steemians but also people who have been around for a while but may not have been aware of this.

You are welcome!

@exyle,
This is a valuable thing to most of STEEMIANs! They are just using Master Key to logging to every app built top of STEEM blockchain and some how they used it with spams! If they follow what you said today, atleast they can secure their accounts! Specially STEEM is based on Proof of Brian (PoB) concept! So, we must secure your hard earnings from scammers!

Cheers~

I think you should be informed how this 3 layer password system from the start because it is quite unique and people are just used to having one password.

Always thanks for your useful posting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85