Why I'm trying to take the high road...vent/rant

in #dtube5 years ago


Sometimes things happen and you have choose how you respond. Yesterday I got some news that is making me respond.

My primary social media is Steemit.com. This month will be two years on the platform. I believe that individuals should use their stake however they see fit. I use my stake to buy votes and promote my work. That is because I believe in my content. I had a first hand encounter with a group of people that may like my content but they hate my process.

When it comes to responding to this...I choose to not. I choose to not jump into the weeds and get caught up in something that could quickly get out of control. Instead, I will continue to focus on a frontend that encourages a positive experience. #innerblocks #thatsmyfuture Be well
~The Yeti


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

We're pretty sure that you won't get downvoted or flagged by stating your opinions and being vocal about what you think. Those downvotes came because of the bid bot buying that almost killed steem over the past year. Proof of brain, what steem is about, is killed by vote buying and now we have a tool to fight these bid bots.
I'm sure these downvotes are not to push you out of the platform or put on a mask or follow rules. The bid bots are mainly used for abuse, you remember the frontpage back when it didn't matter how good was your content, but how much low quality users were willing to spend in "promoting" a post (with tons of revenue including).

The thing is, you might be a good content creator, but if everyone thought like you, we would have again 500 bids per day on shitty content and the organic content, the good authors would get unnoticed and they would leave.

Right now, there is more than 10 million steem power that was formerly used to sell votes, who is now manually curating. Do you know how much money that represents for authors? Authors who don't buy votes, authors who spend a lot of time creating content and actually receive votes because now, if a user uses bots, they get flagged. People stop using bots, the bots are forced to manually curate and voila, you have a whole new ecosystem made of manual curation where the rewards go to the ones who deserve it thanks to their amazing content, the rewards don't go to a random author who decided to bidbot the crap out of his shitpost.

Granted, receiving flags hurts and makes you want to rage and quit. But look at it that way. The flags are a temporary measure to create a permanent solution: manual curation back at its fullest.

Atte anomadsoul

@anomadsoul my friend! I appreciate your real and level point of view. I'm for sure not raging and quitting. Like everyone else I will adapt. I want to learn from my experience and make something awesome from it. Life is too good to be upset. Be well, and thank you for stopping by!

maybe let the wisdom of the crowd decide on your value instead? apply the faith and see what happens! :) the moment i let go of trying to control everything in my life was the moment that i truly started to live! everyday now is an absolute joy. keep sharing your inner dialog, you'll get to the place you want to go too i'm sure.

That is great advice! Thank you

Hi there. It looks like you updated a witness vote.

Allow me to double check everything is in order: !witness-vote-check freedompoint

If you don't want me to check again, please reply STOP to this message and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.

@freedompoint, these witnesses you have voted for have retired (or are running a zombie server):

chainsquad.com, teamsteem


You have 22 witness votes left to use.

You are voting for: aggroed, blocktrades, chainsquad.com, curie, fyrst-witness, lukestokes.mhth, smooth.witness, teamsteem.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Congratulations @freedompoint! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Well said Yeti, continue to "do you" however you see fit, you are not being derogitory, putting others down, how you choose to express yourself, your opinions, and layout content, is not something that should ever be used to bring you down, and I applaud you for taking the high road.

Thank you for your positive feedback! Life is too good and too short to sweat it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87