How To: fix a chainsaw starter string with The Yeti

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Learning how to take care of yourself is one of the most important skills we could ever learn. I am going to make this video today..not for the person who already knows everything about what they are doing, but for the person that just broke their saw and is pretty nervous about what to do next.

A few years ago I started cutting wood. As a family we cut hundreds of cords of firewood. It was a new skill that came after we were already on the homestead. We were in Southern Missouri..living in the woods...and we had to get things done.

There were a couple of opportunities to cut firewood, but one really stood out. I began cutting with my now friend Ted. He was struggling do to a shoulder surgery, and wanted to know if I wanted to cut firewood with him. I said shoot yeah!

He taught me everything I know about my saw. How to run it. How to finesse it. How to clean it and care for it. He even showed me how to fix it. These are skills I will never forget, and I want to pass them on to whoever I can.

The first time that I yanked the starting handle off of my saw I freaked out. I wasn't sure what to do. I just broke the thing that was providing money for my family. I was still in a "city" mindset. Meaning that I was starting to think about who I could pay to fix it, and how much it would cost.

Ted stepped in and showed me that I needed to stop crying so much "it's no big deal". He really helped line up my perspective. Once we got the things we needed I watched him rip open my girl Charlotte. I learned alot that day, and this is my way of passing on alittle information and reminding you that it is ok. You just have to be bold enough to make it happen.

Be well
~The Yeti


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

Awesome, now do maintenance and cleaning the carb!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello my friend! :D

Another great video. :D I love your hats, I think your mother-in-law ROCKS! :D This is something I've never done because my handsome husband doesn't want me touching his chainsaw, which doesn't hurt my feelings at all, its heavy. :D LOL. :D However, now I know how to fix/change the string if I ever do need to. :D Thanks for helping me learn something new today. :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Yeah my MIL is awesome. When I lost the first hat she made me I was really upset, so she made me two more!

You should tell her she "ROCKS!", often. :D God bless! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87