Wildcrafted Motherwort Turns Into Motherwort Tincture: My First Attempt EVER At Making Tincture (Short Dtube Video)

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

mw.jfif


Sorry for the video cutting off- someone decided JUST AT THAT moment to call me and for some reason, the incoming call stopped my video. BUT luckily I was almost done

What I went on to say after the cut off was that I poured the gin to about 1/2 from the rim, sealed the jar and shook it making sure ALL the Motherwort had been saturated with the gin/alcohol.

You can also use Vodka, but for some reason we had some gin on hand, as we are not drinkers, so not sure where this came from except maybe at Christmas and was a gift from someone Mr Golden D works with.

So once you have the Motherwort and gin jar shaken, you store in a cool, dark place; I chose my extra cupboard for such reasons for about 10-14 days. Every two days, shake the jar and place back in the dark place. When the two weeks is up, strain off the herbs and toss away; keeping the liquid. Store in a dark colored glass jar; preferably brown or green. This tincture will stay good for up to five years.

Other uses I discovered in my research include:

  • For reducing anxiety
  • For reducing stress
  • To help lower blood pressure
  • For sleep disorders
  • For menstruation and cramping issues
  • Anti-inflammatory

signature.gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I make motherwort tincture with my plants in vodka. It's great for any female issues. I didn't know it helps with all the other stuff you mentioned above. How cool. Will have to try. Thanks for sharing.

Hey @goldendawne, thanks for sharing this method, will try and get motherwart! Using Gin is actually a good idea as the juniper berries that Gin is made from, is an anti inflammatory :)

I didn't know that about gin. I can't remember the last time I had any alcohol, aside from a sip of my homemade wine to sample.
THAT'S a great combination then for this tincture

For sure! Another tried and tested remedy for arthritis is gin soaked raisins - fill a glass bottle just above halfway with golden raisins, cover with gin, seal and let stand at least a week. Eat 9 raisins once a day!
Apparently it really works, a friend swore by it, she got the tip from an old lady who also swore by it ;)
But your tincture sounds like it has many benefits!

Where do you get your motherwart? I am interested in making me some tincture.

I was VERY fortunate that we have some growing wild on the property. It's spread all along the back property edge right before the creek bed drop off.

this is very interesting @goldendawne, it looks like this brew will be a very healthy thing to keep on hand. And it didn't cost anything except your time and the jars right? pretty awesome.

The gin was a gift from what I can remember; hubby came home with it after a holiday work party and its been on the wine rack collecting dust. So I figured... why not use it; we'll never drink it.

you have a wine rack?
does it have wine on it? and you never use it?
ya'll are very peculiar up there! lol

lol- Yeah.. we are- but you never know when you may get company

thumbnail.jfif

ok..what time is dinner tonight??

I did not realize you could make motherwort into tincture @goldendawne.

I came across the "recipe" when I was searching for its uses

Enough gin will help sleeping disorders. LOL. I have been hearing about different tinctures, might have to try some. Thanks!

Same here. I have been doing some reading and research about tinctures and the benefits of them. I am amazed over the last two years since changing my views on health and homemade remedies, supplements and treatments about how many natural things are out there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99