As Creators, Are We Exploiting Our Surroundings?/ How I Respect Culture When I'm Filming/ Live streaming soon | Vlog 67

in #dtube6 years ago


Are we as creators exploiting our surroundings?

This thought has consumed my headspace for the past month as I've traveled to Asia. I've seen a lot of westerners and just tourists, in general, take pictures and videos of locals, making the situation awkward and very uncomfortable. You can tell from the local standpoint, they feel very uncomfortable. But they don't know how to react.

Not sure if this is just a 'Tourist Superior Complex'... But I just feel weird filming locals when...

I have to stop the natural flow of the environment.

You can film what you want to see or film what you do see.

There's a big difference, just be nice and put yourself into the local's shoes.

Being a nice human being generally wins out in these situations.

Make smart choices :)

Final thought:

I'm doing a dlive later tonight where I'll be storyboarding, filming, and editing a whole dtube video that's going to go out tomorrow :) Come join me :)

As Always... Grateful


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

These are great questions! Awesome blog as always :)

Thanks man! glad you liked the video :)

I have experienced this before "Tourist Superior Complex" during a foreign trip.

But I don't think it's about 'Tourist Superior Complex' most times. Most times, the residents keep quiet/don't say anything just because they want to be seen as hospitable and accommodating'. And then, it's not like tourists really do mean to humiliate residents/locals.

yeah I agree! I've experienced it for sure. I honestly don't know how to film and capture these moments without making people uncomfortable. Which is something I work on everyday haha

Interesting view on it all. I don't think it's exploiting, but rather showing different aspects of life

Yeah, I was thinking about how I've seen tourist stop local and told them to pose for the camera without actually asking them if it's ok. lol

Respect is everything my friend. As always, great video which is perfect timing for me in Bali! Keep creating mate, great content

It reminds of the difference between enjoying the presence of a flower... and picking the flower to take home with you. In one of those instances, the flower dies!

Great video. Huge fan of your work. Inspiring stuff brutha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75