You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You're Struggling With Engagement On Steemit Here's Some Advice

in #dtube6 years ago

This is some meaningful advice and wonderful to read. I'm a barely mediocre writer. But I'm also someone who really enjoys putting pen-to-page (or fingers-to-keyboard most of the time). So I can confirm that this post and posts like it are always great for the loneliness that sometimes comes with the pursuit.

When the text-cursor is blinking in your face on a blank white page you've been staring at, failing to transfer a single word from your mind into something concrete, it's easy to forget that (almost) all other writers, including and especially the best, experience the same inner conflict. That struggle to write something engaging and meaningful--to put something out into the world that people will want to both absorb and discuss.

It's comforting to be in the virtual company of people, like you, who publish great content and make it look easy, but who give reminders that what seems "natural" is actually just incredibly hard work, time, and toil.

I appreciate the work you put in to giving us something meaningful to take out. Thanks!

Sort:  

Yes it is very hard to do but it is not impossible. Like I said repetition. Muscle memory. You learn how to go to those dark or fluffy places in order to simply communicate. My writings begin as either impulse/raw emotion or prompts that I've found meaningful.

Writing from emotion is like catching lighting in a bottle. Once you get it you have to unleash it or else it may kill you so to speak. It's just too powerful to just hold on to.

I hear ya. I keep a notebook next to every place I sit so I can write down my ideas before I forget them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61