4 Body Language Tips | Improve Your Public Speaking | Inspirational Vlog #3

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hi Steemians,

today I would like to talk about the body language in your presentations – I am sure that you will need to deliver presentations at some point of your life, whether it is a presentation at work or even a video on dtube.

I have been attending a public speaking club for almost two years now and have some tips to share:)

Tip no.1: Use open gestures

By using open gestures, you are sending a signal to the audience that you are confident and approachable. Show your palms to the audience, not the back of your hands and try not to cross your arms. That would show a lack of self-esteem. Even if you are not confident, you can still fake it on the stage and use open gestures.

Tip no.2: Eye contact

Eye contact is very important in presentations. The audience wants to feel that your speech is addressed at them, they want to feel included. If you have a large audience, divide the room into three parts – right, middle and left part and make sure that you look at each part while delivering your speech. Nobody from the audience should feel left out.

Tip no.3: Smile

Again, this is about showing that you are friendly, approachable and enthusiastic about the topic. Nobody wants to listen to a sad and depressed presenter. Show your best smile and passion for what you are speaking about!

Tip no.4: Move with purpose

More often than not, I see two extremes. Either a presenter standing on the stage without moving or a presenter walking from one side to another. My advice is – move with purpose. For example, let's say that you have a speech where you are talking about 3 main points. When you finish talking about the first point, make a pause and move on the stage. Then you can start talking about your second point.

I believe that adopting these 4 tips would make you better speakers and take your presentation skills to the next level.

Do you have any other body language tips?

Your inspiranka


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

If you done a lot of public speaking before, you will do great with Dtube...Dtube still a lil slow and lags sometimes but when the fixes come it will be an awesome platform :)

Yes, dtube is pretty awesome already and it will only get better in time:)
I am doing some public speaking in a Toastmaster club and happy that I can now start diving more into making videos with dtube.

That's great!, best wishes with your Dtube journey :)

Nice write up. I will put all these to practice. Keep up the good work.

Thank you, I am so glad you found it useful:)

Really great tips. Thank you for sharing them! I didn't know about the tip of sharing a big room / audience in three parts yet. I hope I think about it when I have again a presentation in front of a larger group of people.

I like to video a presentation then play back. It really highlights "motion without purpose". Sometimes I do it without audio on...really focuses on the movement and gestures.

Yes @steven-patrick, that is another useful tip, thank you:) I do it as well and it is really helpful. Although sometimes I find it painful to watch myself on video, through doing this, I see my own mistakes and can work on them:)

Fast forward also good to highlight unfocused movements. I guess I said like...not good word choice its never fun to watch yourself. You are always your biggest critic :) Remember your audience wants to like you. Let them!

Nice write up . this nice video

good one. pretty useful :)

I love your post
It is very true our bodies never stop communicating, we are always expressing an idea, that is why the importance of putting your proposal into practice. I loved it. Greetings.

Thank you very much @manuel97. I agree we are always communicating even if we are not saying anything. Basically it is impossible not to be saying anything, the body will always communicate and therefore it is important to become more conscious about our body language.

We need to be more conscious of our body language. Then we will have better gestures.

Exactly, good point:)

This is really helpful. Thanks!

Great tips @inspiranka! I am definitely trying to work on some of these things when creating videos. My biggest issue is that I move my hands or "talk with my hands" alot. It's not necessarily bad but it is a lot of unnecessary movement and I find it can be distracting.

Thanks @neeqi, I also have this problem when having a speech but working on it:) The first step is always becoming conscious about it and then changing it. Thanks to dtube, we can always see the progress on our videos:)

I agree 100%. I look forward to watching my old videos in a years time and seeing the progression of them. Everything starts with awareness and as long as we continue to take action with our energy there will always be growth. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98