Happy Birthday Jerry

in #dtube5 years ago


A brief video from today, I am not used to playing Happy Birthday to myself.
It has taken me THREE ATTEMPTS (so far) to upload this 58 sec video.
That's that all about?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Most welcome I hope you had a good day

Birthdays to me are just another day.
This was a performance, at a skilled care (nursing home) which generally
Are not as uplifting to me, as so many of the residents/audience are
Non-responsive, and can't react or participate. I know they like it,
And I know they can't help it, but not having the interaction
Makes it less rewarding for me. My Niece went along today
Which made it much better, so it was a good day after all.
Thanks @tattoodjay

I am the same way with Birthdays always have been I don't like being the center of attention, for the most part, I like keeping quiet and in the backgrounds
I can understand how performing at a nursing home must be not so fulfilling with the lack of response but glad with your neice there it was a good day :)

When I am performing, I am obviously the center of attention, but that is
Really not why I do what I do. It's hard to explain.
Years ago I had a gig playing a solo, "Piano Bar" sort of thing, only it was
A bar/restaurant and I played piano and guitar.
I played Friday and Saturday nights for a couple of months.
Fridays, the place was mostly full of business people talking business, they
Were not there to listen to nor enjoy the show. Those nights I worked my
TAIL off trying to find a song that would bring up a spark of interest
Or recognition. At the end of the night I was anxious to go, and I was
Exhausted.
Saturday nights, there were people in there to see the show, drink and
Have a good time. They loved to ask me for songs they didn't think I
Would know, and many times I didn't but I could fake it. Other times
I DID know the song, much to their (and some times my) surprise.
Those nights flew by and I didn't want to quit at the end of the night
And had trouble going to sleep when I got home.
So it's like a feedback loop. I put it out, they reflect it back to me
And we all benefit.
If I don't get a response, I get no energy back, and I'm exhausted and
Frustrated.
Does that make sense?

On the keys singing Happy birthday. Love it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Many of these gigs are really the monthly happy birthday for the residents
Who've had birthdays in that month. This is the first time I sang to
Myself. My niece made me wear that stupid hat. Ugh.
Thanks @ironshield.

Happy birthday! I have no idea how to post on dtube so you are ahead of me there.

You need to set up an account, do it soon, because they are going to
Have an "Airdrop" (some sort of giveaway of crypto) @scribblingramma
Here is the discord invitation, join and they can help you get started
https://discord.gg/2BVAUR

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97