Curation + Tip Bots, Good or Bad?

in #dtube5 years ago


I'm Conflicted

So I need your help

During my time on Steemit I've seen dozens of curation bots advertising themselves around the ecosystem, and they seem to produce very mixed reactions.

Some people see them as a valuable tool in order to utilize delegated SP in order to support new content and to grow wealth via dividends. Basically a win-win scenario in theory.

However, I have also read that this practice is akin to 'mining' the Steem Blockchain and is just a facilitator of greedy underhanded practices. I read that there are accounts which circulate upvotes between themselves as an example of one such malpractice.

SO I now humbly beseech you, oh wise and wonderful Steem community.

What is your opinion? Should I utilize such a service, or should I avoid them entirely?

Do you think it is worthwhile to review the tip/curation bot and only go with ones that operate in 'good faith'?

Does anyone know of an index of whitelisted curation bots?

Anyways - this is very new, exciting and mentally stimulating for me.

Love to know your thoughts!

Until next time!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Personally, I don't see anything objectionable in the use of curation bots, but I'm not a huge fan of most of them. The only one I really have ever supported is Trufflepig, which does some really good stuff, but there's a couple other that are tolerable. They typically function as a sort of member's club, rather than really curating, which is what puts me off of them.

Steem Basic Income is another one I find useful, though I don't necessarily consider it a curation bot. It gives a regular upvote for you and a person you nominate.

I suppose to settle my moral conundrum I should curate the curation bots and choose the ones that I feel are acting in good faith for the ecosystem.

I had noticed the club type mentality of, 'join us and we'll upvote you' I think that was raising a red flag for me too.

Cheers for the feedback man, I'm a little less hesitant to try now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01