The Dtube Book Review - Bookstore Trip With My Sons

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


This week...I had some special guests for my trip to the bookstore!

My two sons joined me today as we ended up at our local bookstore...Again :)

I have way too many books to be read right now so this was more of a trip for their enjoyment. My oldest son is addicted to world history so he was poking around that section while my youngest and me found an awesome Dr. Seuss book...

Never too young to learn personal development by Dr. Seuss :)

Hope you enjoyed our trip and it's something I absolute love doing with my first son and hope to continue the tradition with my youngest!

Side note: I did talk a little bit about David Sax's Revenge Of Analog, which is a fascinating book and an eye opening read. So I will be giving a copy away on Monday night to one lucky attendee!

Have an awesome weekend and happy reading :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Sounds like you had a great time at the bookstore. I can't be at Dlive episode tonight as I am working but I look forward to seeing the replay Tuesday morning. Have a great day

For sure.

Yup I record them all so it will be uploaded right after we stream live tonight :)

Vinyl is such a better quality of audio production! You can feel the music where in digital you don't have the same physical experience. :) Great to see Matthew... bummer no book review on Dr Seuss by the young'en. :)

Oh I love vinyl. I have thousands of records from my old DJ'ing days. lol Something about it, just sounds right. Yeah no review....But it's good, trust me LOL

Well my partner had our 45's and Albums from my DJ days... :) If you want interesting music check out http://arhoolie.org where you will find all kinds of interesting things! Plus, "This Ain’t No Mouse Music" is a movie you should watch about Chris Strachwitz (Whom I met at the Dallas Film Festival). Link to the movie: http://thisaintnomousemusic.com
Here is the trailer:

Who recorded a lot of eclectic music not available on the regular circuit... Tejano music, Blue Grass, Bayou Music, and more. You can see that at http://www.downhomemusic.com/shop/arhoolie-releases/.

IMG_3589.JPG
In Oak Cliff (Dallas, Texas), there is a place called http://toptenrecords.org that sells vinyl. Back in the day we would be records at Peaches, Now & Then Records, and http://www.recordexchangestl.com in St Louis. There is also anther store not far from us that has a little collection!

I grew up in the record stores in Toronto. Some have shut down over the years but I have so many good memories of getting down there for new release Tuesday and see what the store owner brought up from NYC over the weekend....Back then, owners had to drive down to NYC and buy the records themselves to bring them back....Crazy how times have changed.

Oh yay... we did the same thing... Not to NYC but, to the local stores... Not every store had what we needed... Peaches was current things! Now & Then Records or Record Exchange is where we got our classic records... 50's, Big Band, etc... I use to listen to Dick Clark & Casey Kassem for the count downs so I could stay current as well as buy Billboard magazine. :) Oh yay... of course Wolf Man Jack... :)

You got a 1.65% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jongolson!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 57.80% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @jongolson!

Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .10 SBD or Steem to @brandonfrye with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to our service for daily passive earnings which helps to support the @minnowfund initiative. Learn more here

Revenge of Analog was a great book. I passed it on to one of my sons.

It was fantastic. One of the more eye opening reads that I've had in the past few years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95