Stop WAITING, just DO IT! Starting your BUSINESS - DTUBE DAILY #20

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hey everyone!

In today's video I talk about why you need to start your business NOW!

As you might know, I moved down to Jacksonville, FL in the beginning of the year, and one of the main reasons I came down here was to start a film business with my brother. Another major reason was just to be able to spend some time with the brother and niece, since they've lived down here for 10 years and I haven't seen them a ton in that time.

Well... five months later, and I've made little to no progress on the business plan. We've brainstormed, we've discussed things, but there hasn't been much action to actually getting things set up and rolling. We need to get a website set up, and social media accounts rolling. It's really not that hard! And once your name starts getting out there and you let people know that you have a service to provide for them, jobs will start to roll in. It's all about getting your name out there and letting people know you are open for business. :)

I have a new personal client that I'm doing some video edit work for and I feel guilty charging her the full amount for my work because I know she's a single mother of two trying to start her own business. I really want to help her out and give her the best shot at succeeding so I'm only charging her for part of the time I spend working on her videos. It's made me realize I need more clients that are already established so I don't feel guilty billing them for the total amount of time I spend working on their projects! Also having more cash flow into my pocket would of course be amazing.

download.jpg

My main message here is, if you have an idea you've wanted to start doing something about or a business model you want to build up, JUST DO IT! It's those first steps that can be the hardest, and once you get the ball rolling you'll start reaping in the rewards and feeling great about it. Sometimes it's those first small steps that are the hardest. Stop thinking, just do it. I'm just as much talking to myself as I'm trying to advice all of you!

Also want to give a huge shout out and thanks to @dtube for all the support lately. It really does mean so much to me. <3

Hope this helped you guys in one way or another, and we will see you back here tomorrow for the next one!

Have a great night everyone,
Jordan


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I wouldn't have a problem invoicing the personal client assuming you clarified the hourly rate before you began? I also find it's handy to keep a rolling tab of hours worked and share it with the client as you progress. That way it's not a huge slap to the face when you send the final invoice.

They're just small jobs so it won't add up to anything major. But yeah, the wage agreement was clarified. Still gets me because I'm not used to earning that sort of money for a job, so I feel bad accepting all that from a (potentially) single mother of two!

I hope your projects become greater

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82