You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bale Garden Tour & Harvest - Early August Pt. 1

in #dtube5 years ago

Wow, that's really inspiring! Thanks for sharing! I kinda cringed when I saw you going after the squash without gloves, lol! I've had several bad experiences with prickles of all varieties! When we successfully grew yellow crookneck squash years ago, we let them go a little too long and they turned dark yellow, the size of a small club, and full of nodules! I'm looking forward to seeing how your sweet corn is going! How has your war against the pincher bugs been going?

Sort:  

Thanks!
I've always been a bit of a roughneck so the squash don't bother me a bit. The key to good squash is to get them when they are less than 8 to 10 inches.
The corn is doing AMAZING! The bugs are still in the garden but with liberal applications of Sluggo Plus they have been knocked down very hard. If there is any damage it should be very minimal. I'm dying to see how the harvest turns out this year. I have a couple neighbors eyeballing the corn too. Let's just hope the squirrels and raccoons don't try to harvest before I do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63152.84
ETH 3104.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84