You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog 407: Steemit inc? what do you want to be?

in #dtube5 years ago

I keep going back and forth about changing the reward 'economics'. I'm coming to the realization, that as long as you change it from one fixed model to another, the gamers will adjust to exploit it. I'm not an economist, but I think if you made the ratio a variable chosen by either the author or curator, you make it more difficult to game the system. I lean more towards a slider for the author, since they technically 'own' the content. Curators could then decide whether or not they want to engage with that author depending on what reward balance is being offered. Stats could be gathered, and authors can be categorized based upon curator friendly or not. Tools can then be built to readily identify them. I think there should be a slider from 0-100. This would cover 2 edge cases. The case of an author wanting to give 100% of rewards back to curators to reward them, and an author capturing 100% of the rewards (think a charity or steem developer account).

Sort:  

I read somewhere that when a slider is introduced all/most votes will ultimately go to the authors that have a slider at 100%. I do think that can happen.

You would have to make it very visible so authors must succumb to social pressure. If you for instance consistently set your rewards to 100(without justification), I would just stop following you(no offense ;-)). The same way I unfollow people who use promotion bots now.

Can't the slider be limited to let's say 75-0%?

The slider idea sounds interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87