Speedpaint This War of Mine Thumbnail

in #dtube5 years ago


Its time for a new Thumbnail! The people voted on my main Chanel
(KoraktorXV on Youtube https://www.youtube.com/user/KoraktorXV)
for This War of Mine as the next Let´s Play Project, there for this Thumbnail. At First I made a Mockup in Blender 2.79a (I actually tried to do it in 2.8 Beta but jeeeeeea its lacking basic featurs (yet)).The Character Model (XBot) is from Mixamo. Its was basic but after adding some rudimentary IK it served its Job nicely. The Sene I envisioned was a recurring situation in This War of Mine. One of the Characters is risking it's Live for some basic Materials, in this case Firewood. I thought that Wood would (How´s there?) be a nice Display of the dire situation, of the People which are living in this kind of Warzones are facing on a daily base. This is the Theme of the Game. I also though about switching the Wood with a Child, becurse the game had a Update called "the little ones". This would have been a more powerfull image but I already hat to draw two Full Characters and I had just about 5h time to make it (it had become 7.5h). Sooo it is wood now.

After the Positioning of the Models, I tried to render it but some how there ware Keyframes in the Rig, messing with my work and they resist deletion. But yea they had to give in the end.
I loaded the Mockup in Krita as a new layer and drew my Construction over it. My Thumbnails have incrested in complexity over the Time, and I really have to look in to some Timesaving measures. The target is some ware around 3-5h.

My Comic stile and the Blender Mockups have been chosen for this reason, but I'm still to slow for my tased. Perhaps I can code some shading magic? I have to look in to it.
After everything had been Constructed, I drew the outlines of the Characters and the Props. I had some fun (Nobody will see in the end, but how cares?) with the Rocks on the M1 and the clutter on the Block.
I also had some Problems with the Construction of the Female face. I rarely draw people in this Facepose, and I have to train it. I stared so long at this face that it made no sense in my head anymore. After asking tow Friends (which are not Artist) what they think looks wrong, I could fixed it up. Good enough.

The Outlines are finished, so I filled in the Base colors (Blue-ish and Red-ish). I choused to use 2-3 Shading transitions becurse of the Time and Lighting situation of the Scene.

Btw ignore the Buildings in the Background at 2 am without Coffee I'm unable to Think about 2-Point-Perspetiv and I had no time at all for this.

Often I think about my level of detail in this Thumbnails becurse most of the things, are unseen due to the size of the image. Even when seen on a Big TV.Time saving chances.

In the End I added some shadows and Dust so the focus is more on the Akturs (with mildly success, more contrast is probably needed).

At ~4am I realised that I had 10h left untill i had to write my Examina. Sooo I thought some sleep would shurely be helpful and a doped dead in my Bed.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70