Kiwi Picking, Te Puke, New Zealand, 2018

in #dtube6 years ago


Being a backpacker in New Zealand means that there´s a huge probability of becoming a picker. Approx. 100,000 working-holidaymakers come to New Zealand every year. A lot of pickers!

Well, there are 2,516 kiwifruit growers in NZ and they produce about 140 million kiwi trays (a tray is approx. 3,6kg) for export (valued at 1,660 million dollars in 2016: the highest ever recorded value for exported kiwifruit).🍈

The video was shot in Te Puke during 2018 kiwi picking season. Usually, we picked around 3 tons per person per day. That´s a big number, isn´t it?

It was a hard job! Fun too, though!

🐏 🐏 🐏 🐏 🐏 🐏 🐏 🐏 🐏 🐏


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Gosh, that brings back some memories. I used to live in Katikati, and spent several seasons picking during the day and packing at night. It was hard work, but a fairly short season. Later there was winter pruning as well, which was the toughest of them all.

I have some fond memories of those days, and of the people I met during that time. I worked at KatiCool mostly, either on the boxmaking machines (with a guy named "Buzz") or I was upstairs delivering the pallet loads of empty trays & plixes down to the packers.

Wow, you're one of the crazy people picking during the day and then packing at night...hard job, it is, really. I couldn't do it that way. I bet you had good money, no sleep though 😃

Yes, it certainly makes for a long day, but the money was good, yeah.

Yes, it certainly
Makes for a long day, but the
Money was good, yeah.

                 - trisquelwhare


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59121.51
ETH 2993.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78