This is Exactly Why I Choose Dtube & Steemit Over FB !

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

20180513_132831_0001.png

I recently got catfished on FB by someone pretending to be me!

This person had a fake profile using my name, surname and photo's!

If something similar to this has happened to you before please feel free to comment below with your story.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It's in facebooks interest to have fake profiles as are other social media sites like Instagram and Twitter. It's a great way to inflate your user numbers and because they sell this data to advertisers without having to verify the validity they are also able to charge a decent rate to reach these mass of profiles with advertising. I don't use those social media platfroms anymore only for personal use and if I didn't make a living using them i'd probably remove myself from it completely.

I had someone who claims they from Spain comment on one of my steemit posts a while back and we got to chatting for about 2 weeks but her posts were always just photos via steepshot no real content and when i asked why she doesn't post more fleshed out content like blogs or vlogs she gave some long convoluted answer i then decided to reverse search a few of the images and found it was of a girl in America whose a model and I hit that person up on Instagram to verify the story. she said it wasnt her and its not the first time her pics were used for catfish profiles. I then went back to the profile and linked a few of her posts to the original images, he/she then removed the images from the posts and I flagged all the highest paying ones! But then saw it doesn't really do much and moved on lol

Steemit may not be the best place for a catfish to hang out but can still suffer from catfishing unless it has some sort of KYC/verification process.

How did you find out about your catfish? Did anything wierd happen with the profile?

Wow interesting story!!

No luckily nothing weird, just the inbox message from a different person showing me that there is a fake profile out there with my name and photo's.

When I went on that person's profile it also looked fake so I immediately reported it to FB.

I now realise how important it is to put your settings to private!

100% So important at least If you have it on it can only be someone you actually know using your photos! Which is highly unlikely unless your friends with someone loopy or vindictive!

Haha I totally agree!

Congratulations @melissacynthia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Awesome thanks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56